LibGuides: BIO 224 Human Physiology & Anatomy| Course Guide : Web Resources

Google

General Anatomy Sites

Anatomy and Physiology I Web Sites
North Harris College.
Anatomy and Physiology II Web Sites
North Harris College.
Anatomy Atlases
Atlas of the Human Body
From the American Medical Association.
Biological Basis of Heredity
From Palomar College.
Get Body Smart
An online examination of human anatomy and physiology
HEAL: Health Education Assets Library Home
Histology Images
Dr. Andrei Gunin.
InnerBody Explorer
Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
From Florida State University.
Medical Gross Anatomy Atlas Images
From the University of Michigan Medical School.
Virtual Body
Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine.
Web Anatomy
From the University of Minnesota.

Images and Pictures

ome of the images listed on this site are in the public domain, but not all. Before using any image look for a note about copyright. Using images without citing them is considered plagiarism. Also, keep in mind that anything that is published is automatically copyright protected whether it contains the symbol or not. You may be required to ask for permission and possibly to pay a fee before you can use images for publications or presentations. Images that are "free to copy" often have a note on them that states that they fall under a Creative Commons License or are in the public domain.

University of Iowa affiliates -- If you’d like help finding medical pictures on a particular subject, or making a page listing sites in a subject, contact Eric Rumsey.

HardinMD: Medical Picture Gallery

This site contains a variety of health images from different sites. It also contains a subset of "free to copy" images.
HEAL" Health Education Assets Library
Free, high-quality digital materials for health sciences education.
Public Health Image Library
This site contains images related to public health. It is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Most of the images on this site are in the public domain, but some are copyright protected.
AnatQuest
AnatQuest is a web-based interface for viewing high resolution Visible Human anatomical images. These 4096 by 2700 24bit images are created by scanning the 70 mm photographs taken of each slice during the cryosectioning of the human cadavers.
eAnatomy: Human Anatomy, Medical Imaging and Illustrations
"e-anatomy is an anatomy e-learning web site. More than 1500 slices from normal CT and MR exams were selected in order to cover the entire sectional anatomy of human body. Only some of the images on this site are freely available.
Muscle Atlas: Musculoskeletal Radiology
Created by Doctor Michael Richardson at the University of Washington, this online muscle atlas covers the lower and upper extremity, and is primarily designed for use by health science professionals. The site also includes some teaching and instructional materials related to radiology

Use the Advanced Search to limit your results to Images. Images can be exported as PowerPoint slides. Text regarding copyright and attribution to AccessMedicine must be retained.

Merck Medicus: Image and Media Library
Search more than 60,000 media resources relevant to your practice or specific patient diagnoses.

Suggested Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention A federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services. It works to protect public health and safety by developing and applying disease prevention and control. Use the A-Z Index to find information.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Statistical information about the state of America's health.
Health, United States Annual report from the National Center for Health Statistics on trends in health statistics.
National Library of Medicine: Medline Plus Health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Easy access to Medline and health topics, medical dictionaries, directories, and publications.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Part of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It houses genome sequencing data in GenBank and an index of biomedical research articles in PubMed and PubMed Central, as well as other information relevant of biotechnology.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases "Leading research to understand, treat, and prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases."
USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service: Foodborn Illness and Disease Fact Sheets Essential information about causes and prevention of common foodborne bacteria.
EPA Microbiology Resources Provides access to microbiology-related information that has been developed or managed by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). EPA methods related to bacteria, viruses, and protozoans can be found at this site.
California Department of Public Health, Center for Infectious Diseases
World Health Organization Under the United Nations, provides leadership on global health matters and assesses health trends internationally. Use the Health Topics tab to find data and statistics related to disease worldwide.
Mayo Clinic: Diseases & Conditions A non-profit worldwide leader in medical care, research, and education for people from all walks of life.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Information on the mechanism and cause, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of over 2000 diseases and disorders.
Merck Manual of Medical Information Contains virtually all of the information in the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, but in easy-to-understand, everyday language

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

Check the Library home page.
See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.