LibGuides: English Language: Web Resources

Google

English Related Websites

20 Six-Word Stories
Students might draw inferences from these 6-word stories. Appropriate for middle school and up; consider community standards before using.
The Glory Field by Walter Dean Myers
Find learning activities that help students draw inferences here.
The Hunger Games by Suzanna Collins
Lesson plans here include strategies for developing skills of inference.
Inference Riddles
Online interactive practice. Students click for up to 10 clues and guess at answers. Designed for elementary students.
Robert Frost's Poetry
Students draw inferences from reading a variety of poems.
Teaching Inference
Suggestions for teaching inference on multiple grade levels. Includes riddles, wordless picture books, political cartoons, and short stories, suggestions for parent involvement. 52 pages; Adobe Reader required.
Teaching Inferences
Strategies for grades 1-6.
The Stranger by Chris Van Allsburg
Lesson plans here include suggestions for teaching inferences.

National Public Radio

Talk of the Nation - Audio news talk show.
Morning Edition - Morning news talk show
All Things Considered - Audio talk show on a variety of topics
Motley Fool Radio - Personal finance and investing talk show
Car Talk - Talk show about cars and more
This American Life - Life and culture.
NPR News
NPR Music
NPR Arts and Entertainment
NPR Podcast Directory

Online English News

BBC News Hour
BBC Hard Talk - Journalists debate current events.
BBC Americana - Current issues in America.
BBC The Witness - Real-life accounts of major events.
Radio 5 - Sports and news
Radio 4 - Talk, culture, literature, and news
Radio 4 Extra - Radio comedy, drama and programming for children
Radio 2 - Music and entertainment
Radio 1 - The latest music
Saudi Press Agency

Study Skills

Advanced Composition for Non-Native Speakers of English The main objective of this site is to help non-native English speakers write for an English speaking academic audience which necessarily includes organization of ideas, the single greatest weakness among many non-native English speakers.
EAP English Exercises: Academic essays and academic writing A collection of online exercises designed to practice skills for writing different kinds of essays. Users can also compare their answers against a series of model essays.
How-to-Study: Articles A selection of practical articles about study skills and related areas. The currently available articles are grouped into categories including language, notetaking, remembering, studying, and taking tests.
Purdue Online Writing LabThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides writing resources and instructional material. Users can also submit brief, writing-related questions to the OWL Mail Tutors. You may also find the new grammar blog useful.
UEfAP: Academic WritingExplains how to write academic essays and reports; includes information on research, paragraphs, plagiarism, references and grammar. Also has a check list and a set of exercises.
Academic LiteracySite contains useful information about essay writing, critical reflection, referencing, editing, oral presentations, effective notetaking and active reading.
Using English for Academic PurposesA guide for students in Higher Education. Includes material for listening, reading, speaking, vocabulary and writing.
Free TOEFL Practice
Test Magic
Test Prep Review
TOEFL
TOEFL Grammar Practice Quiz

General

BBC: Learning English This site from the UK's BBC includes resources for General and Business English, Grammar, Vocabulary and Pronunication, Quizzes, Videos and Podcasts.
English Club English Club is designed to help you learn English online. You can get help with English grammar, study grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation, play games and do English quizzes online and chat in English with other students and teachers.
Natural English Contains lots of practice activities, from beginner to upper-intermediate level, to help you improve your English naturally. Includes grammar and vocabulary exercises, games and reading for fun.
Australia Network - Learning English - Learning Programs A series of television programs to help with listening and improving English skills. Programs are: Passport to English; Nexus; English Bites; The Business of English; Study English; and Living English. Video podcasts can be downloaded.
English-Zone.ComA collection of English resources divided into different zones, including grammar, reading, verbs, pronunciation, idioms and spelling. Some content is freely available but the rest requires a subscription.
ESL PartyLand Student Learning A site with English Lessons based around a variety of topics. Also includes information about ways of learning English, plus quizzes and games.
UsingEnglish.comLearn English with the free tools for ESL students, including English language references, activities including tests and polls, and articles on English usage. The ESL forum is the perfect place get help learning English, where people are online to answer your questions 24 hours a day.
Academic English Cafe - Home for Learning English with Quizzes, Games, Model Essays and More Learn English online at your own pace. Take free English language quizzes, practice academic vocabulary, find great books on learning English, read model essays, listen to authentic English language podcasts and more.
English4Today Hundreds of grammar and vocabulary resources, online courses, IELTS, Business English, and Writing courses, video English lessons, podcasts, downloadable software. Join the most active English learning and teaching communities on the Internet. Membership is free

Grammar

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

Check the Library home page.
See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.