Skip to main content

Nutrition: Web Resources

Library materials, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

Google

Google Web Search

Basic Websites For Nutrition

  • Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Formerly the American Dietetic Association, this is the world's largest organization of nutrition and food professionals.
  • Food and Nutrition Information Center Comprehensive food and nutrition websites resource from the National Agricultural Library.
  • Agricola References to information on agriculture and allied disciplines, including food & nutrition, entomology, plant sciences, aquaculture, agricultural economics, earth and environmental sciences.
  • Agriculture Fact Book (USDA Publications) Chapters on nutrition, food safety, what Americans eat, food prices and distribution. Online editions 2002, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996. Also available in print (A1.38/2) in Government Publications.
  • Food Safety and Inspection Service The Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.
  • MedTerms.com Medical Dictionary (MedicineNet.com) Dictionary includes standard medical terms; also scientific items, abbreviations, acronyms, jargon, institutions, projects, symptoms, syndromes, eponyms, medical history -- all having to do with medicine and the biomedical sciences.
  • Merck Manual of Medical Information--Home Edition Textbook of medicine widely used by health care professionals; information on disease, diagnosis, prevention and treatment. Also available in print.
  • National Academy Press Provide "full books, free for the reading, first page to last" - over 1000 titles. Available in a variety of formats. Use "Browse Categories" to find what they have on nutrition.
  • National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control) Data on vital events; information on health status, lifestyle, and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability; the use of health care.
  • Nutrient Data Laboratory: USDA Food Composition Data Provides data on 6,661 foods for up to 125 nutrients and food components. View the data here or download the data files and documentation for use on your computer; look up the nutrient content of different foods directly from this home page.
  • Nutrition Analysis Tools for Good Health (University of Illinois) NAT is a free program. It allows you to do a nutritional analysis on a wide variety of foods, within the limitations of the data (see the site). The database used by NAT is composed of the USDA Handbook #8 and information from food companies.
  • TiLE.NET: The comprehensive Internet reference Find here electronic mailing lists on food, nutrition and packaging.

Nutrition & Dietetics

  • USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Nutrient values are based on the variety of the food product as well as the cooking method used (e.g. cooked garbanzo beans). Also available in print as Agriculture Handbook No. 8, Composition of Foods: Raw, Processed, Prepared. (A 1.76:8 Gov Pubs / US). An online version with a slightly friendlier interface is available at the Nutrition Analysis Tool.
  • Dietary Guidelines for Americans "Published jointly every 5 years since 1980 by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department of Agriculture (USDA). The Guidelines provide authoritative advice for people two years and older about how good dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. They serve as the basis for Federal food and nutrition education programs."
  • Medscape Nutrition Resource Center Current relevant news, articles, and position papers on topics related to nutrition. [REQUIRES ONE TIME REGISTRATION FOR ACCESS TO ALL FREE INFORMATION.]
  • Nutrition.gov A site lining together the US Government various resources on nutrition. Major areas include Food facts, Food safety, Lifecycle issues, Health management, Food assistance, Research, and Resources.
  • Hardin MetaDirectory for Nutrition, Diet, and Food The Hardin MetaDirectory provides subject arranged lists of lists of websites. It covers all areas of health and medicine. This link goes directly to the list of nutrition lists. Several of the lists or gateways included on this page are discussed in more detailed below. Maintained at the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa.

Food & Nutrition Reference

Food Safety

  • Food Related Diseases Overviews, prevention, symptoms and treatment.
  • Food Safety.gov A gateway to food safety information from various agencies of the federal government. Contains information for consumers, children, educators, and those in the food service industry. (LII)
  • Food Safety at CDC The Center for Disease Control website for reports and updates on food safety issues.
  • Food Safety Office Information on food borne diseases, pathogens, environmental hazard, prevention, images and information resources.

Food Systems

  • Alternative Farming Systems Information Center A National Agriculture Library resource for information on organic, community-based and sustainable agriculture.
  • Community Supported Agriculture "This publication reports on the history of Community Supported Agriculture in the U.S. and discusses the various models that have emerged. Recent trends in the CSA movement are presented".
  • Community Supported Agriculture Resources about CSA, which "consists of a community of individuals who pledge support to a farm operation so that the farmland becomes ... the community's farm, with the growers and consumers providing mutual support." The site includes a description of CSA, a list of CSA farms in the United States, and links to information related to CSA and sustainable agriculture.(LII)
  • Food Routes This website is "dedicated to reintroducing Americans to their food the seeds it grows from, the farmers who produce it, and the routes that carry it from the fields to our tables."
  • Local Harvest Enter your zip code "to find farmers' markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food in your area, where you can buy produce, grass-fed meats, and many other goodies".
  • Organic Consumers Association "The OCA deals with crucial issues of food safety, industrial agriculture, genetic engineering, children's health, corporate accountability, Fair Trade, environmental sustainability and other key topics. We are the only organization in the US focused exclusively on promoting the views and interests of the nation's estimated 50 million organic and socially responsible consumers".
  • Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture PASA's mission is "promoting profitable farms which produce healthy food for all people while respecting the natural environment".
  • Pennsylvania Local Food Guide Map "Adirectory of Pennsylvania family farms, farmers' markets Community Supported Agriculture farms (CSA's), u-pick farms, restaurants, grocers, caterers and bakers, bed & breakfasts, and other businesses that sell locally grown farm products."
  • Sustainable Agriculture This website has publication about the "principles of sustainable agriculture and some of the "systems" approaches associated with it".
  • Sustainable Table This site introduces users "to the major issues surrounding sustainable meat and factory farming." Topics include additives, animal welfare, genetic engineering, heritage livestock breeds and heirloom crop varieties, hormones, mad cow disease, slaughterhouses and processing, and soil conditions. From the Sustainable Table, "a consumer campaign developed by the Global Resource Action Center for the Environment (GRACE)." (LII)
  • Your Food Environment Atlas This atlas provides an "overview of a community's ability to access to healthy food". This interactive tool allows users to compile county level statistics on food choices, health and well-being, and community characteristics.

Nutrition

  • Choose My Plate The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, an organization of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, was established in 1994 to improve the nutrition and well-being of Americans.
  • Food Labeling and Nutrition This searchable site has information on how to read and understand the nutrition facts panel on food labels; articles on nutrition and health; industry labeling guidance, regulations, and compliance information; and legal requirements for health and nutrient content claims.(LII)
  • Martindale's Virtual Nutrition Center Includes links to information on food science and food management, cooking techniques and demonstrations, and thousands of recipes. "Nutrition Overview" is ambitious in its coverage: reference works, nutrition calculators, specialized science databases, laboratory diagnostics and protocols, safety guidelines, and travel and immunization information. Other sources include nutrition journals, databases, courses, and tutorials. (LII)
  • Nutrition and Health Information Sheets Designed for the layperson, these fact sheets provide information on specific topics such as calcium, osteoporosis, cholesterol, ephedra, fiber, fat, iron and anemia, low carbohydrate diets, soy, and St. John's wort. Also features "General Nutrition & Health Guidelines" with tips about fitness and diet.(LII)
  • The Nutrition Source - Harvard School of Public Health Current nutrition information by the Harvard School of Public Health Department of Nutrition.

Recipes

  • Epicurious Contains thousands of recipes, cooking tips, holiday features, cocktails, wine advice, travel suggestions, and more. Many recipes feature helpful (and mouth-watering) photographs. Though somewhat commercialized, the quality of the recipes--several notches above the average Web collection--makes Epicurious a first stop for many cooks. Searchable and browsable. (LII)
  • FoodTV.com The "companion website to cable's premiere destination for food and lifestyle programming." There are over 20,000 recipes from various shows, entertaining suggestions, profiles of different chefs, cookbook reviews, a wine section, and schedules for the shows. Searchable. (LII)
     

Safe Food & Food Borne

  Safe Food Handling:

Safe Food Storage 

 

Food Borne Illness Prevention

 

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

  • Check the Library home page.
  • See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
  • Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
  • Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu