BCOM301 Business Communications | Course Guide: Web Resources

Blow are the absolute best business writing websites and resources out there. They have tips on everything business-writing related including language, tone, etiquette, memo writing, and proofreading. All of these resources are worth book-marking in your favorites or printing out for future reference:
Online Writing Lab: Abbreviated OWL, this website is the godfather of business writing and etiquette. It includes hundreds of resources on business writing including business letters, memo writing, email etiquette, language and tone guides, proofreading, and revision, all in accessible handout form.
Brief Guide to Business Writing: This is a great printable booklet on the basics of business writing put together by the Department of Management and Organization at the University of Iowa. It outlines all there is to know about business writing and includes samples of emails, memos, and business letters.
WikiBooks Business Writing: Take the wiki approach to business writing with this useful open-book site. Start here to explore all there is to know about business writing.
Colorado State University: Perfecting you business writing can be a long and sometimes daunting process. Learn how to craft your writing from start to finish with this writing guide that covers the essentials of conducting research, planning, drafting, organizing, and revising.
Research and Documentation Online: Another excellent resource for formatting and structure, the Research and Documentation Online website allows you to choose a discipline (such as business) and what you need assistance on (such as formatting). It will then provide you with a user-friendly reference page to answer your questions as you work on your paper.
Online Technical Writing: This is one of the best places on the web for anyone in business communication. The guide highlights all aspects of business writing including reports, memos and letters, as well as document design, processes and guidelines to help you from start to finish.
Keep in mind that the road to consistently successful business writing is a long one. These resources will help you along the way but ultimately it's up to you to work on improving your writing skills. Take your time, always double- and triple-check your work, and aim to be clear and concise. And remember, if you get stuck along the way, there are 100 helpful websites just a click away. Good luck and have fun!

• Businessweek: Business Week magazine is a leader in the corporate publishing world, so it's no wonder their business writing blog is one of the best. There are helpful stories and tips here from founders, directors, and CEOs in the business world.
• Business Writing Blog: The mother of all business writing blogs, Lynn Gaertner Johnson's blog features talks, tips, and best picks for writers on the job.
• Syntax Training: Lynn Gaertner Johnson also hosts several better business writing workshops through her Syntax Training website.
• Manage Your Writing: If you think you've read all there is to read about business writing, check out this blog, which offers a new tip or tool every week.
• Write Better in Business: Another helpful blog, Write Better in Business features best practices from business writing gurus and examples to follow at home.
• The Art of Business Writing: This fun blog is a great place to unwind or take a break if you've got writer's block. Share stories, read tips, and learn how to make your writing really count.
• The Business Insider: Tim Rosa Associates is a leader in business writing, and offers expert insights, advice, and trend spotting useful for anyone wanting to improve their writing.
• Business Writing Info: This helpful blog includes plenty of tips and expert advice on business writing. Check out “Business Writing Words to Ban for 2010” for a quirky take on what words to avoid in any business report.
• Wordbiz Report: Debbie Weil shares her advice on business writing and blogging. This blog is fresh and fun with plenty of useful advice.

These YouTube videos and social networking sites provide a fun and interactive way to network, connect, and learn about the ins and outs of business writing. These resources offer an enjoyable approach to business writing:

• Report Writing: Have a business report to write and want a quick demonstration of what your finished report should look like? Take a minute to watch this easy-to-follow video and learn the basics of report writing.
• Email Writing: Email is the most common method of communication in the twentieth-century office. Make sure you are sending the right messages with this video, which covers how to keep your emails on-target and readable.
• Email Subject Lines: The subject line of your email can make or break its effectiveness. Make the right first impression with these simple email subject line tips, highlighted in this quick and quirky video.
• Proposal Writing: One of the most daunting business writing projects is the dreaded proposal. This video outlines the basics of any successful business proposal so you can strengthen your chances of getting your project accepted.
• Memo Writing: What's in a memo? Why is it useful and how in the world do I make mine effective? This video will show you.
• Business Letter Format: The art of writing a business letter is covered wonderfully here by Helen Wilkie. In this video, she looks at the eight parts of a successful business letter.
• Basic Business Letter Writing: Another great video on business letter writing, Basic Business Letter Writing will show you the keys forms of business writing in less than seven minutes.
• Expanded Business Letter Writing: Once you've mastered the basics of business letter writing, broaden your abilities and lengthen your letter with the tips presented in this video.
• Instruction Writing: This video on instructional writing aims to help you guide your team to success, avoiding en route the stress and concerns that can be involved in leadership.
• Four Message Types: Good news, bad news, neutral, and persuasive message types are all covered in this fun six minute video. With silly animations and clear bullet points, this video unravels the mystery of sending all types of messages successfully.
• Business Yelp: Sure, Facebook may rule the social networking world, but there is a lot to be said for Business Yelp. Business Yelp allows business owners to share information about their businesses with colleagues and communities. This is an excellent business writing resource as it allows you to communicate effectively and efficiently through the web. Plus, it's a lot more fun than traditional memos!
• Talkbiznow: Another excellent social networking resource for business writers, Talkbiznow is a business community that provides business services for small businesses and professionals. Once you have mastered your business writing skills, take what you have learned to Talkbiznow and connect with those who matter.
• Social Harbor: Social Harbor is a full-service social media and search engine marketing company offering Web 2.0 solutions for companies and their employees. Make your business count on the web by joining Social Harbor and publishing your writing to the cyber world.

• American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI)reports scores on a 0-100 scale at the national level. It also produces indexes for 10 economic sectors, 47 industries (including e-commerce and e-business), more than 225 companies, and over 200 federal or local government services. The measured companies, industries, and sectors are broadly representative of the U.S. economy serving American households.
• Free Management LibraryThe Library provides easy-to-access, clutter-free, comprehensive resources regarding the leadership and management of yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations.
• Institute for Public Relations - Research topics"IPR focuses on research that matters, delivering knowledge that ultimately helps business management to achieve their goals through more effective public relations."-website
• Online Communication Studies Resources - Univ. of IowaA great listing of websites from Advertising to Visual Rhetoric. Extensive and in-depth, it covers the wide array of communication studies.

• Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
• Ministry of Commerce and Industry
• Communication and Information Techology Commission
• Saudi e-Government National Portal
• e-Government Program

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.