Skip to Main Content

GE490 Capstone Engineering Project | Course Guide: Web Resources

Library materials and useful resources for students at GE 490 Capstone Engineering Project compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

Google

General Engineering Related Websites

EngNet Engineering Network Powerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.
Engineering.com Excellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.
Eng-Tips Forums Popular web site for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage.
Ein.net--Engineering and Technology A comprehensive subject list of web sites, vendors, and organizations. Directory is divided into very specific areas.
GlobalSpec A leading specialized vertical search, information services and e-publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.
Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections InfoMine is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information. Academic librarians and other professionals contribute their expertise to InfoMine.
Scirus A scientific web search engine for web content, journal content, scientist’s individual homepages, courseware, patents, institutional repositories and more.
TechXtra TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing.

General Engineering Professional Associations

American Association for Engineering Education (ASEE)ASEE is a nonprofit association founded in 1893, dedicated to promoting and improving engineering and technology education.
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society fostering scientific freedom and responsibility, improving the effectiveness of science.
American Society for Metals (ASM International)The American Society for Metals, now known as ASM International, is a worldwide network of individual engineers who work with metals and materials.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)ACM is the world's first educational and scientific computing society.
Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE)The world's leading professional association for the advancement of technology
SPIE-Optical Engineering Society
Institution of Engineering and Technology

Standards

Careers in General Engineering

Career Focus: Engineering Management Into every life, a little responsibility must fall. For engineers, that might mean leading projects. For others, it might mean advancing up the corporate ladder to become a manager or a corporate officer. It could even mean starting your own company and becoming the boss.
Engineering Careers, Jobs and Employment Information Engineering is an exciting career field to be involved in and new opportunities are always available for qualified engineers. This page offers a wealth of reliable and relevant information on various engineering careers.
The Occupational Outlook Handbookhas sections on

General Engineering in Saudi Arabia

الهيئة السعودية للمهندسين Saudi Council of Engineers

إنترنت السعودية Internet.Saudi

مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز للعلوم والتقنية KACST

هيئة الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات CITC

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

Check the Library home page.
See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.

Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu