Skip to main content

ARE332 Building Services Engineering|Course Guide: Web Resources

Library materials and useful resources for students at ARE332 Building Services Engineering compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

Google

Architectural Engineering Related Websites

Arch Daily Online source of continuous information for a growing community of thousands of architects searching for the latest architectural news: design plans, projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others. 
Architecture - WWW Virtual Library Offering links for architectural studies. 
Architecture and Building: Internet Resources The most complete site for architecture. Useful information, search strategies, guides and handouts, plus the best list of network reference tools covering all theoretical and practical aspects of the subject. 
arcspace.com architecture and design magazine that features today's most creative projects as well as the most influential of the past. 
Arcspace.com Architectural News and Galleries. 
Building Materials by McGraw-Hill Sweets Searchable collections of catalogs for construction and building. 
Built in America Information from two Library of Congress projects. Historic American Buildings Survey and Historic American Engineering Records. Includes photographs, drawings, etc. Search or browse. 
CMD First Source Information about building products, construction industry news, building codes, architecture firms, and links to trade publications. Some sections require free registration. 
Cyburbia.org: Internet Resources for the Built Environment Comprehensive resources in planning, architecture, construction, building technology, transportation, environment, energy etc. Includes mailing lists, Usenet newsgroups. Hosts interactive message areas. 
Designinform Research Guides Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms. 
Digital Bridges: Bridges of the Nineteenth Century (Lehigh University Libraries) Digital images from 19th Century American bridge engineering monographs, manuals and documents.
Earthquake Engineering (University of California, Berkeley) Based on a text by V.V. Bertero, provides an illustrated introduction to earthquake engineering principles. Features photographs and an overview of recent research. 
Emporis Buildings- The Building Industry Platform International Database about Buildings, Construction and the Real-Estate industry. 
The Engineer's Edge Practical design and engineering resources for mechanical designers, engineers, or quality and manufacturing professionals. Includes hardware and material specs. 
Environmental Design Library Links to useful resources for Architecture, City Planning, Environmental Planning, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design 
Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley) A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley. 
Global Development Research Center Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective. 
GlobalSpec Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web. 
Godden Structural Engineering Slide Library (University of California, Berkeley) Over 500 photographs with annotations designed to illustrate particular facets of structural theory, response or design. Includes historic and modern structures. 
The Great Building Collection The Great Building Collection - Gateway to world architecture. Search for thousands of buildings and hundreds of architects. Photographic images, architectural drawings, commentaries, web links and 3D models 
Green Builders Guide Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction. 
Green Building Guidelines Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California. 
Green Design; Sustainable Architecture: Resources UC Berkeley Environmental Design Library extensive bibliography on sustainable design of buildings. Links to additional research guides on solar design, daylighting, and other design topics. 
Urban Environmental Management from The Global Development Research Center Articles, links and information on aspects and issues with urban environmental management. 
Voice of the Shuttle: Architecture Page The server offers general resources, architects, works, projects, design, historical preservation, museums and libraries, journals, and more. 
Why the Towers Fell Companion to the NOVA program examining the collapse of the World Trade Center and methods to improve building safety. Includes film, photos, transcripts of interviews, links to additional information. 

Handbooks and Dictionaries

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

  • Check the Library home page.
  • See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
  • Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
  • Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu