National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources. Because we are a Federal Depository library, we do carry some of these resources in our Government Documents collection. Ask at the information desk for assistance with government documents.
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Science.gov Provided by the U.S. Department of Energy, a gateway to millions of pages of authoritatively selected science information provided by government agencies in the United States. The Office of Scientific & Technical Information (OSTI) allows the same type of access for grey literature. Grey literature includes newsletters, reports, working papers, theses, government documents, bulletins, fact sheets, conference proceedings and other publications.
Forensic Science Programs Worldwide A site from the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.
George Washington University, Dept. of Forensic Sciences One of the more comprehensive sites, with links to a variety of topics concerning the forensic sciences.
Henry C. Lee Institute of Forensic Science Opened in 1998, the Institute is affiliated with the University of New Haven. Henry Lee is recognized world-wide as a leader in the field of forensic science. Find information here on classes, workshops, volunteer opportunities, and scholarships.
American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS)
Representing all 50 United States, Canada, and 52 other countries worldwide, members actively practice forensic science and, in many cases, teach and conduct research in the field as well. AAFS publishes the Journal of Forensic Sciences.
American Forensic Association "Committed to public advocacy and to those who teach it" is their motto. Maintained by Wake Forest University.
American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors Dedicated to the advancement of crime laboratory procedures.
Canadian Society of Forensic Science (CSFS)
Membership in the society is open internationally to professionals with an active interest in the forensic sciences. It is organized into sections representing diverse areas of forensic examination: Anthropology, Medical, Odontology, Biology, Chemistry, Documents, Engineering, Firearms and Toxicology.
European Network of Forensic Science Institutes ENFSI has working groups on such topics as DNA, Drugs, Explosives, and Fingerprints.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Created to protect the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats. The site has job information for those interested in a career in the FBI. One section includes job information for those still in college. See also their link for "Reports & Publications."
Forensic Science Society Includes index to articles in Science & Justice. Published in the United Kingdom.
International Association of Identification (IAI) Publishes the bimonthly Journal of Forensic Identification.
National Forensic Association Sponsors the largest intercollegiate individual events and Lincoln-Douglas debate tournament, as well as a journal devoted to forensic research.
Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods: