Skip to main content
This federal site includes a wealth of information about AIDS, including HIV vaccine research.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
From CDC's homepage, choose the "Diseases and Conditions" button. The subsite's A-Z list at top provides links to information on hundreds of diseases and conditions.
Frontiers in Immunology
This open-access journal publishes articles across the research spectrum of Immunology. The site includes four specialty journals: Immunological Questions, Immune Recognition Molecules, Immune Effector Molecules, and Immunological Disorders and Diseases.
This guide to immunology research at NIH provides snapshots on the homepage. To find more requires digging: Faculty and Research Interests link > choose subject > researcher links. Some links are unavailable, others lead directly or indirectly to research information.
Portal: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Scroll toward the bottom of this vetted wiki site to find links to immunology, vaccination, virology, and bacteriology. These links lead further to autoimmune diseases, allergies, viral disease, etc. Look for the academic references associate with specific articles.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO's Topics page includes links to many information-rich subsites, including vaccines; influenza and other viral infections; parasitic diseases; and HIV/AIDS. Another subsite
lists dieases alphabetically and by type.
International Organisations - Immunology
Microbiology, Immunology & Biochemistry
- IMGT, the international ImMunoGeneTics database ntegrated database specialising in Immunoglobulins (Ig), T cell receptors (TcR) and Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC) molecules of all vertebrate species. At present, IMGT includes two databases: IMGT/LIGM-DB, a comprehensive database of Ig and TcR from human and other vertebrates, with translation for fully annotated sequences, and IMGT/HLA-DB, a database of the human MHC referred to as HLA (Human Leucocyte Antigens). The IMGT server provides a common access to all Immunogenetics data.
- Kabat Database Sequences of Proteins of Immunological Interest.
- VBase Index Amino acid and nucleotide sequence alignments Scale maps of the human immunoglobulin loci Sequence alignment software (DNAPLOT)
Numbers of functional segments Restriction enzyme cuts in V genes PCR primers for rearranged V genes. From MRC Cambridge.
- RasMol & Chime: Molecular Visualization Freeware RasMol is free software for looking at molecular structures. It runs on Windows or Macintosh/PPC computers (also unix).
- Rotating RasMol Images Chime shows molecules like RasMol, but unlike RasMol, Chime shows molecules inside a web page.
- FRONTIERS IN BIOSCIENCE Gene knockouts listed alphabetically according to the name of the gene.
- The Transgenic/Targeted Mutation Database The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine.
Obtaining Further Help
Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:
- Check the Library home page.
- See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
- Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
- Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:email@example.com