Skip to main content

Medical Informatics: Web Resources

Library materials, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

Google

Google Web Search

Healthcare Informatics Web Resources

Health Informatics Resources

AMIA - American Medical Informatics Association
   AMIA is a professional organization for biomedical and health informatics. AMIA promotes the effective organization, analysis, management, and use of information in health care in support of patient care, public health, teaching, research, administration, and related policy.

MU Informatics Institute
   Also Known as: MUII
Building on a tradition of outstanding informatics education and research at Missouri, the MU Informatics Institute is a joint research and education program supported by various departments of the School of Medicine, College of Engineering, and the Bond Life Sciences Center. The Institute offers concentrations in bioinformatics and health informatics. Each concentration stresses the skill sets and research appropriate for the subfield within the broad area of informatics.


NCBI Resources

Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
   Also Known as: BLAST
The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) compares gene and protein sequences against others in public databases. Specialized BLASTs are also available for human, microbial, malaria, and other genomes, as well as for vector contamination, immunoglobulins, and tentative human consensus sequences.

Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP)
   Also Known as: CGAP
The Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) aims to decipher the molecular anatomy of cancer cells. CGAP develops profiles of cancer cells by comparing gene expression in normal, precancerous, and malignant cells from a wide variety of tissues.

CN3D
   Cn3D is a helper application for your web browser that allows you to view 3-dimensional structures from NCBI's Entrez retrieval service. Cn3D runs on Windows, Macintosh, and Unix.

Entrez Gene
   Entrez Gene - each Entrez Gene record encapsulates a wide range of information for a given gene and organism. When possible, the information includes results of analyses that have been done on the sequence data. The amount and type of information presented depend on what is available for a particular gene and organism and can include: (1) graphic summary of the genomic context, intron/exon structure, and flanking genes, (2) link to a graphic view of the mRNA sequence, which in turn shows biological features such as CDS, SNPs, etc., (3) links to gene ontology and phenotypic information, (4) links to corresponding protein sequence data and conserved domains, (5) links to related resources, such as mutation databases.

Entrez Genomes
   Entrez Genomes - whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life - bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota - are represented, as well as many viruses, phages, viroids, plasmids, and organelles.. Entrez Genomes provides graphical overviews of complete genomes/chromosomes and the ability to explore regions of interest in progressively greater detail.

Human Genome Resources Guide
   Provides overview and access to available genome resource databases provided by NCBI(National Center for Biotechnology Information). Databases include Entrez, OMIM,Sagemap ,GeneMapand Locus Link.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
   Also Known as: NCBI
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.

Viral Genotyping Tool
   Viral Genotyping Tool: a web-based program that identifies the genotype (or subtype) of recombinant or non-recombinant viral nucleotide sequences. It works by using BLAST to compare a query sequence to a set of reference sequences for known genotypes. Predefined reference genotypes exist for three major viral pathogens: human immunodeficiency virus 1 (HIV-1), hepatitis C virus (HCV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV), as well as for poliovirus. User-defined reference sequences can be used at the same time. The query sequence is broken into segments for comparison to the reference so that the mosaic organization of recombinant sequences is revealed. The results are displayed graphically using color-coded genotypes. Therefore, the genotype(s) of any portion of the query can quickly be determined.

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

  • Check the Library home page.
  • See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
  • Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
  • Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu