Skip to main content

Computer Science: Web Resources

Library materials and useful resources compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

Google

Google Web Search

Computer Science Related Websites

arXiv e-Print archive
This is an open access database with 550,526 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. This is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. It is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation
CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
DataBase systems and Logic Programming (DBLP) provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. DBLP indexes more than one million articles and contains more than 10000 links to home pages of computer scientists.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals & thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. This aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content
E Print Network
This is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
Energy Citations Database
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Energy PolySearch Engine
Find citations, abstracts and/or full text documents related to energy science and technology.
Many of these databases provide additional features, such as citation tracing, finding related
items, that even your fee-based services may not offer.
HighWire Press
This is a division of the Stanford University Libraries, and hosts a large repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1269 journals and 6,059,877 full text articles from over 140 scholarly publishers
Information Bridge (DOE)
DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of DOE research literature. The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission
Odysci
Odysci is a new and free web portal for search and rank of scientific articles published in journals and conferences worldwide, in computer sciences, electronics and related areas. The focus is relevance of results and technical collaboration. The search engine covers ACM publications, IEEE CS publications, as well as those listed by CiteSeerX, DBLP and many other databases.
ResearchGate
This OpenAccess database currently has over 10 million full-texts (sourced via the method of self-archiving, as well as other open access databases). Also it contains more than 45 million abstracts, drawn from 7 of the largest databases, such as PubMed, IEEE, Citeseer, etc. Although you can only access the abstracts from these papers, the database does provide a link back to the original source.
SPIE Reviews
SPIE Reviews is a peer-reviewed, open-access online journal that publishes invited review articles covering the state of the art of emerging and rapidly evolving optics and photonics technologies and their applications. The journal also features links to review articles published in other SPIE Journals on the SPIE Digital Library. All articles and supplemental materials in SPIE Reviews are open access and freely available to all.
TechXtra
TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
A free service by Alf-Christian Achilles and Paul Ortyl

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

  • Check the Library home page.
  • See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
  • Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
  • Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu