MNT510 Fundamentals of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology I | Course Guide: Web Resources

Foresight Institute Founded in 1986, the Foresight Institute is a nonprofit educational organization and think tank in Menlo Park, Calif. The society's mission is to educate the public on the benefits and risks of nanotechnology. The work of the organization focuses on clean energy and water, health and longevity, environmental health, information technology, and space development. The resource section provides links to web resources for researchers and investors.

 

 

Institute of Nano Technology (IoN) The Institute of Nano Technology is a nonprofit educational organization focused on the development and promotion of nanotechnology for the benefit of society. IoN activities include examining the implications of nanotechnology for industry, society, and the environment. The institute, located in Scotland, was founded in 1997. The site has freely available information and resources in addition to market reports for a fee.

 

 

Micro and Nanotechnologies Innovation Campus (MINATEC) The Micro and Nanotechnologies Innovation Campus is a technology center in Grenoble, France. MINATEC research areas include materials and integration processing, photonics, microelectromechanical systems and sensors, molecular electronics, nanocharacterization, nanoelectronics, and spintronics. The government-funded research center was founded in 2002.

 

 

Nano Science and Technology Institute (NSTI) Founded in 1997, the Nano Science and Technology Institute is an education and business center in Cambridge, Mass. The work of the institute focuses on the integration of nanotechnology through educational programs, publications, and research services. NSTI produces the annual conference Nanotech.

 

 

Nanotechnology Institute (NTI) The Nanotechnology Institute is an academic/Pennsylvania state government partnership located in Philadelphia. The institute's primary focus is on technology transfer from academia to industry, with the ultimate goal of commercial application of new nanotechnology discoveries. NTI was created by the University of Pennsylvania and Drexel University.

 

 

Nanotechnology Research and Education Centers The National Nanotechnology Initiative (see U.S. Government section) posts a list of U.S. government and academic research centers involved in nanotechnology research and education.

• National Centre for Nano-structured Materials (South Africa)
• National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan)
• Nano Mission (India)
• National Nanotechnology Coordination Office (NNCO)
• Nano Ned (Netherlands)
• NanotecIT (Italy)
• National Center for Nanoscience and Technology (China)
• National Institute for Nanotechnology (Canada)

Nanoforum - European Nanotechnology Gateway  Nanoforum, originally funded by the European Commission, operates as a news distribution forum. The news is divided into topics, including Chemistry & Materials, Health & Nanobio, Nanotools & Metrology, and Transport & Space, among others. Individuals can join the Nanoforum community for free to participate in discussion groups and disseminate information. The mission of the forum is to "enhance access" to nanotechnology activities in Europe.

 

NanoHub NanoHub was created to support research and educational initiatives in nanotechnology. The site features more than 1,600 educational resources, including online presentations, undergraduate and graduate courses, learning modules, conceptual learning tools, and more. NanoHub was created by the Network for Computational Nanotechnology (see below) with National Science Foundation (NSF) funding.

 

 

Nanopaprika  Nanopaprika, also known as The Internet NanoScience Community (TINC), is an "online social networking community for nanoscientists" created by a Hungarian doctoral student. Members can form thematic groups and chat with colleagues. The site also features several blogs written by members.

 

NanoScienceWorks NanoScienceWorks is a nonprofit online research community for nanotechnology supported by the Taylor & Francis Group, a publishing company. The site presents general news stories, nano "newsmakers" features, and brief institutional profiles. It also spotlights information about Taylor & Francis publications related to nanotechnology.

 

Center for Responsible Nanotechnology (CRN) The Center for Responsible Nanotechnology's mission is to examine the benefits and risks of nanotechnology -- specifically molecular manufacturing. CRN is a nonprofit, independent think tank, which claims "no direct affiliation to any government, business, or academic organization."

AZoNano.com -- The A to Z of Nanotechnology
AZoNano lists freely accessible information and resources on nanotechnology. The site's primary audience is consumers of nanotechnology. Resources include articles, books, events, jobs, news, podcasts, products, and videos. AZoNano.com features its own iPhone app.

Open Directory Project.org: ODP Web Directory Built With the DMOZ RDF Database

New Scientist  The nanotechnology section of this subscription-based magazine features a beginner's guide to nanotechnology and a selection of freely available news articles. The section also provides previews for articles accessible only through a subscription to the magazine.

 

Nanotechnology Now  Nanotechnology Now is an information gateway site featuring news briefs, white papers, feature columns, company and academic directories, interviews with industry leaders, and a career center. Nanotechnology Now also offers subscription- and fee-based products, including consulting services and a specialized monthly report.

 

 

Nanowerk Nanowerk is a specialized news portal focusing on nanotechnology information, including new research, recent publications, company profiles, job listings, and event news. The daily "Nanowerk Spotlight" feature article examines recent research findings. This popular site also has a unique database of nanomaterial suppliers.

 

 

Physorg - Nanotechnology News Physorg is an online news service for the sciences. The site collects news from government, academic, and industry sources. The nanotechnology section is divided into four sections: Nanotechnology (general news), Bio & Medicine, Nanophysics, and Nanomaterials. The site also publishes exclusive feature stories on new developments in science and technology.

 

Nanotechnology Blogs (Nanowerk.com)

Nanowerk.com provides a listing of active blogs focusing on nanotechnology. Each listing has a brief annotation about the blog.

• Nanoarchitecture.net

• Nanodot (Foresight Institute)

• Nanoparticle Blog

• Nanotechnology Development Blog

• Nanotechnology Law Blog

• Nanotechnology Law Report

• Next Big Future

• American Chemical Society (ACS) Nanotation

• American Chemical Society - Nanotechnology Safety Resources

• American Society for Precision Engineering (ASPE)

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Nanotechnology Institute

• Australian Centre for NanoMedicine

• Converging Technologies Bar Association

• Erwin Schrödinger Society for Nanosciences (Austria)

• European Foundation for Clinical Nanomedicine

• European Society for Precision Engineering and Nanotechnology EUSPEN (UK)

• Institute for Molecular Manufacturing

• Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Nanotechnology Council

• International Association of Nanotechnology

• MIT-Harvard Center of Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence

• NCI Alliance for Nanotechnology in Cancer

• Network for Computation Nanotechnology

• The Royal Society/Royal Academy of Engineering: Nanoscience Report

 

Class 977 Nanotechnology Cross-Reference Art Collection The United States Patent and Trademark Office created a nanotechnology-related reference document to assist with the patent searches for this research area. There are more than 250 cross-reference art collection subclasses for nanotechnology.

 

Key Patent Strategies for Nanotechnology Inventors (Nanowerk)  Posted in 2008, this article provides nine "considerations" about bionanotechnology patents. The strategies given in the article are meant as a guide to protect new inventions. There are also several links to earlier articles concerning intellectual property rights as they apply to nanoscience.

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.