Skip to main content
Islamic Related Websites
- Islamic Studies, Islam University of Georgia Professor, Alan Godlas, provides one of the most comprehensive and scholarly sites on Islam. Highly recommended by such organizations as National Geographic and the Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Al-Khazina: The Treasury The Islamic Studies site of Professor Jerome Clinton at Princeton. Interactive site for the study of Islam from Princeton University.
- Center for Islam and Science "Center for Islam and Science (CIS) is dedicated to the promotion of research and diffusion of knowledge on all aspects of Islam and science. CIS encourages a creative exploration of the Islamic worldview of science, fusion of contemporary scholarship with the traditional sources of Islamic thought and a renewed link with the intellectual tradition of Islam."
- Harvard's Center of Middle Eastern Studies There are some revisions being made to this page.
- Internet Islamic History Sourcebook Extensive site created by Fordham University, covers every aspect of the history of Islam through a myriad of web links to sites all over the world.
- Islamic Area Studies Project at the University of Tokyo. If you are asked to install a language character, you can click no. Pages will still load, and much of this site is available in western languages, most often English.
- Islam in South Asia: A Resource Guide Websites, online articles, topical sites and online books are all provided through this Columbia University site.
- Islamic Studies Pathways This site was compiled by Prof. Gary R. Bunt of the University of Wales, Lampeter, this site briefly describes and evaluates sites useful for students of Islam.
- IslamWeb A project of professors Carl Ernst and Charles Kurzman at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
- MEDEA Database MEDEA (European Institute for Research on Mediterranean and Euro-Arab Co-operation) is a hypertext encyclopedic database.
- Middle East Peace Online Part of grassroots.org, whose mission is to provide information and opportunities for peace worldwide.
- Middle East Resources at the University of California, Berkeley
- Middle East Studies Association (MESA) Prominent academic organization for the study of the Middle East.
- Middle East Studies: Columbia University Extensive site covering Islamic and Jewish subject matter, including music, culture, art, food, languages, minority cultures and social practices
- Political Islam in South Asia This report analyses the growth of political Islam in South Asia (Pakistan, Afghanistan and India's Jammu and Kashmir Province). PDF file.
- Prof. Juan Cole's Academic Fields Page Comprised of useful links for scholars in the areas of History as well as Middle East, South Asia, and Religious Studies
- Prof. Carl Ernst Professor Ernst of University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, is a specialist in Islamic studies, with a focus on West and South Asia. He was criticized along with Prof. Sells.
- Professor David Powers
This Islamic History Course created by Cornell University Professor, Dr. David Powers, provides many useful links as well as visual aids.
Professor Michael Sells Prof. Sells provides his syllabus, and many links to sites of interest. Prof. Sells book Approaching the Qur'an and its use at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill has recently been at the center of controversy. For this, see Professor Sells' website UNC-Approaching the Qur'an Controversy. Note as well Sell's Community of Bosnia website. For many years Sells was one of the more prominent American scholars to actively oppose the "ethnic cleansing" of Bosnia.
Syllabi for the Teaching of Islam Compiled for the American Academy of Religion, this site includes examples of syllabi used by professors at the university level. Scroll down to Islam.
World Wide Web Virtual Catalog. Maintained by the The Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Texas, this site includes extensive links to information on culture, art, religion, politics, as well as curriculum guides, reference and media coverage of the Middle East.
Obtaining Further Help
Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:
- Check the Library home page.
- See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
- Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
- Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:firstname.lastname@example.org