Ambulatory Care: Web Resources

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  "Your online source for credible health information."
• EthnoMed

  "The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world."
• Evaluating Internet Health Information

  The National Library of Medicine put together this 16 minute tutorial to help healthcare students and patients find the best online information about health.
• FASTSTATS - Homepage

  "quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance"
• Georgia Vital Statistics

  "The Office of Health Information and Policy offers pre-formatted natality, mortality and population data. Data are available by 159 Georgia counties, 19 public health districts, Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs), non-MSAs, and the state as a whole."
• National Institutes of Health (NIH)

  "Helping to lead the way toward important medical discoveries that improve people's health and save lives, NIH scientists investigate ways to prevent disease as well as the causes, treatments, and even cures for common and rare diseases."
• Office of Minority Health

  "The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."

Pharmacy Associations:

• American College of Clinical Pharmacy - AACP "The American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) is a professional and scientific society that provides leadership, education, advocacy, and resources enabling clinical pharmacists to achieve excellence in practice and research. ACCP's membership is composed of practitioners, scientists, educators, administrators, students, residents, fellows, and others committed to excellence in clinical pharmacy and patient pharmacotherapy." ACCP 2011
• American Society of Health-System Pharmacists - ASHSP "ASHP is a 35,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP is the only national organization of hospital and health-system pharmacists and has a long history of improving medication use and enhancing patient safety." ASHP 2011
• Board of Pharmacy Specialists - BCPS "The Mission of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties is to improve patient care through recognition and promotion of specialized training, knowledge, and skills in pharmacy and specialty board certification of pharmacists." BCPS 2011
• Massachusetts Society of Health-System Pharmacists - MSHP "The Massachusetts Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP) was founded in 1945 to foster the professional growth of hospital pharmacy in Massachusetts. In the 1960, MSHP became affiliated with the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists (ASHP) now known as the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists...Today, MSHP represents over 1,400 pharmacists and pharmacy technicians working in organized health-systems throughout the Commonwealth." MSHP 2011
• Pediatric Pharmacy Advocay Group - PPAG "The Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group is an international, nonprofit, professional association representing the interests of pediatric pharmacists and their patients. We are dedicated to improving medication therapy in children. Our sole purpose is to promote safe and effective medication use in children through communication, education, and research." PPAG 2011

Licensure and Accreditation:

• Board of Pharmacy Specialists - BCPS

Medical and Pediatric Associations:

• American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
• American Pediatric Society/Society for Pediatric Research (APS/SPR)
• MA Medical Society (MMS)

• Saudi Red Crescent Authority
• Ministry of Health
• The Sultan Bin Abdulaziz Humanitarian City Home Health Care
• King Abdulaziz University Home Health Care
• National Guard Health Affairs Outpatient
• Government Guide health centers
• Patients Friends Committee
• The Saudi Pharmaceutical Society (SPS)

Pharmacy Databases:

• Micromedex
• ToxED

FDA Databases:

• Drugs @ FDA Drug database

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

• FDA Daily Med : Current Medication Information DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

• FDA Index to Drug-Specific Information U.S. Food and Drug Administration
• FDA Medication Errors Information about Medication Errors

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

• FDA Medication Guides "Medication Guides are paper handouts that come with many prescription medicines. The guides address issues that are specific to particular drugs and drug classes, and they contain FDA-approved information that can help patients avoid serious adverse events." --FDA 2010
• FDA MedWatch : The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program Medical Produect Safety Information

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

• FDA Potential Signals of Serious Risks/New Safety Information Identified from the Adverse Event Reporting System (AERS) A list of potential signs of serious risk/new saftey information that were identified using the AERS database during the indicated quarter.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

• FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals, & Safety Alerts Up to date information on food and drug recalls.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

• FDA Vaccine Information U.S. Food and Drug Administration
• Drugs.com : Prescription Drugs--Information, Interactions & Side Effects Drugs.com provides advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products including information about interactions, perscribing information, clinical trial results, and FDA regulations.

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.