Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet
- African American Archaeology Resource Links
- African Archaeology The World Wide Web Virtual Library
- African Diaspora Archaeology Network and Newsletter Information about archaeological studies of African diasporas, including news, current research and Web links
- American Academy in Rome
- Archaeology Excavations - Blog
- ArchaeologyFieldwork.com - Offers employment listings in archaeology and related disciplines, resume postings, field schools, volunteer opportunities, a students section, discussion board, and many resources for those in the internet archaeology community
- The Archaeology Channel (http://www.archaeologychannel.org/)
- ArchNet The World Wide Web Virtual Library for Archaeology
- El Paso Archaeological Society
- Great Archaeology
- Historical Archaeology in Harpers Ferry and Loudoun Valley
- Historical Landscapes of New Philadelphia Information about archaeological investigations at New Philadelphia, Ill., the first U.S. town planned and legally founded by an African-American.
- The International Center for East Asian Archaeology and Cultural History (ICEAACH) Center at Boston University that provides important resources for research and teaching about the archaeology of Central Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia
- Loveland Archaeological Society Cultural institution for the past 64 years that features some of the world's foremost archaeologists as guest speakers, as well as extensive exhibits of artifacts.
- National Center for Preservation Technology and Training, National Park Service
- North Carolina Archaeology Compiled by the North Carolina Office of State Archaeology, North Carolina Archaeological Council, and North Carolina Archaeology Society
- Plymouth Colony Archive Project Archives and Analysis of Plymouth Colony, 1620-1691
- The Society for Historical Archeology
- The Society for Industrial Archeology
- Southwestern Archaeology Inc.
- Teach Ludlow, Co: An Archaeological Teaching Tool This website offers information about Ludlow, a digital archive of particular archaeological artifacts from the excavations at Ludlow, Colorado, an online exhibit outlining the history of the Colorado Coalfield Strike and the Ludlow Massacre, and a set of activities for teaching on this subject.
- The Prehistoric Society
Listservs and Discussion Groups
Online Journals and Libraries
News and Media
Organizations and Institutes
- American Indian Film Gallery Gallery of vintage motion pictures on the American Indian experience, free of charge for viewing and downloading for educational purposes.
- Bullfrog Films Leading source of educational videos, with a collection of over 500 titles.
- California Newsreel Resource for films and videos on African cinema, race and diversity and media for educational use.
- DocuSeek Several film distributors' complete collections, films and videos available.
- Ethnoscope Multicultural films & videos.
- EnthnoVisions Ethnographic documentaries for educational use produced by Wilton Martinez in collaboration with anthropologists, indigenous organizations and NGOs, for use in classrooms.
- Images of Anthropology Provides a varied selection of photographs suitable for publication in texts, books, manuscripts, related to different fields of anthropology-archaeology.
- American Museum of Natural History's Margaret Mead Traveling Film & Video Festival
- New Day Films
- Peoples of the World
- Tribal Photography Resource and Gallery Photographic resource supporting tribal survival, the defense of human rights and cultural autonomy of indigenous people.
- Media Education Foundation
- Women Make Movies
Recommended web sites
American Anthropological Association. List of Anthropology Resources on the Internet.“ This resource area is meant to be used as a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web. Please note other Resource links to on the left hand site and look at the Careers Development pages for information on funding opportunities.”
American FolkLife Center. Folklife Sourcebook A database of ethnographic resources of all types in the US and around the world. Provides annotated entries for identifying archives, museums, and libraries; directories and web resources; grant giving organizations; higher education programs; public sector organizations; publishers and dealers of books and recordings; research groups; and societies.
Center for Ethnography In association with the University of California, Irvine, the Center for Ethnography focuses on developing "sustained theoretical and methodological conversations about ethnographic research practices." Established in 2006, the Center supports innovative collaborative ethnographic research as well as research on the theoretical and methodological rethinking of ethnography for contemporary cultural, social and technological transformations." Contains event dates, project themes, and reports.
Handbook on ethical issues in anthropology, edited by Joan Cassell and Sue-Ellen Jacobs This book was originally published in the American Anthropological Association's Special Publications series. Its six chapters deal with a range of topics relating to the ethical aspects of anthropological practice, such as 'how to hold a workshop on ethical problems in fieldwork'. It is edited and mainly written by Joan Cassell and Sue-Ellen Jacobs.
Internet Scout Project. Scout Report Archive: Anthropology "A searchable archive of the best of the net's resources from the Scout Report, the Scout Report for Science & Engineering, the Scout Report for Social Sciences & Humanities, and the Scout Report for Business & Economics. Resources are cataloged and browseable by Library of Congress Subject Headings."
Intute – Anthropology Browse a variety of the best web sites for study and research in anthropology. Note: Intute closed in July 2011. No new resources are being added to the site.
Library of Congress. American Folklife Center. Folklife Sourcebook A database of ethnographic resources of all types in the US and around the world. Provides annotated entries for identifying archives, museums, and libraries; directories and web resources; grant giving organizations; higher education programs; public sector organizations; publishers and dealers of books and recordings; research groups; and societies.
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britian and Ireland The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.
Obtaining Further Help
Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:
- Check the Library home page.
- See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
- Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
- Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:email@example.com