PubMed| Subject Guide: PubMed® Online Training

Searching PubMed

• Search PubMed by Author (2 min., January 2012)
• Searching PubMed by Author and Subject (1 min., June 2012)
• PubMed Simple Subject Search (1 min., March 2013)
• PubMed Simple Subject Search: How It Works (1 min., June 2012)
• PubMed: The Filters Sidebar (2 min., YouTube video, December 2012)
• Search for a Journal (2 min., January 2013) - See also Searching for Journals in the NLM Catalog
• Retrieving Citations from a Journal Issue (1 min., January 2013)
• Advanced Search Builder (2 min., YouTube video, December 2011)

PubMed's MeSH Database

• Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query (3 min., YouTube video, February 2013)
• Applying Subheadings and Other Features of the MeSH Database (3 min., September 2012)

Managing Results

• Changing Your Default Display Settings (2 min., March 2013)

Links to Full Text (My NCBI)  

Your library may use LinkOut Filters or Outside Tool to link from PubMed to full text articles.  Ask your librarian.

• Need the Full Text Article? (2 min., YouTube video, November 2011)
• Links to Full Text from Your Library (Library LinkOut Filters) (3 min., June 2012)
• Selecting Your Outside Tool Preference (3 min., March 2013)

Saving Searches (My NCBI)  

• Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts (2 min., YouTube video, January 2012)
• Changing Saved Searches (2 min., October 2012)
• E-mail Alerts for Articles from Your Favorite Journals (3 min., March 2013)

Collections and Bibliographies (My NCBI)

• Save Search Results in Collections (3 min., YouTube video, August 2012)
• Editing Collections (3 min., October 2012)
• My Bibliography (3 min., YouTube video, January 2012)
• Sharing Collections (2 min., October 2012)

Preferences and Filters (My NCBI)

• Retrieving Your My NCBI Username or Password (2 min., October 2012)
• Changing Your Default Display Settings (2 min., March 2013)
• Filters(3 min., March 2013) 
  • Custom Filters (2 min., September 2012)
  • Links to Full Text from Your Library (Library LinkOut Filters) (3 min., June 2012)
• Selecting Your Outside Tool Preference (3 min., March 2013)