Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Writing Resources
The Writing Process These resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. While the writing process may be different for each person and for each particular assignment, the resources contained in this section follow the general work flow of pre-writing, organizing, and revising. For resources and examples on specific types of writing assignments, please go to our Common Writing Assignments area.
Academic Writing These resources will help you with the types of writing you may encounter while in college. The resources range from rhetorical approaches for writing, to document organization, to sentence level work, such as clarity. For specific examples of writing assignments, please see our Common Writing Assignments area.
Common Writing Assignments These resources will help you understand and complete specific types of writing assignments, such as annotated bibliographies, book reports, and research papers. This section also includes resources on writing academic proposals for conference presentations, journal articles, and books.
Mechanics These resources will help you with sentence level organization and style. This area includes resources on writing issues, such as active and passive voice, parallel sentence structure, parts of speech, and transitions.
Grammar These resources will help you use correct grammar in your writing. This area includes resources on grammar topics, such as count and non-count nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions.
Punctuation These resources will help you with punctuation, such as using commas, quotation marks, apostrophes, and hyphens.
Visual Rhetoric These resources will help you understand and work with rhetorical theories regarding visual and graphical displays of information. This area includes resources on analyzing and producing visual rhetoric, working with colors, and designing effective slide presentations.
Writing and Research Assistance
- GCC English Department - provides links to WWW Resources for Writers
- Dartmouth Writing Program
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
- Resources for Writers - George Mason University
- Researchpaper.com "The Web's largest collection of topics, ideas, and assistance."
- A+Research and Writing Guide. Provides a step-by-step guide to writing a research paper, research methodology and resources, and links to OWLS (Online Writing Labs) that provide guides to specific types of papers and essays (e.g., argumentative, narrative, comparative).
- The Nuts and Bolts Guide to College Writing - a very good source for all aspects of writing, including the mechanics of grammar, types of papers, and citation formats (APA, MLA, and Chicago).
- Annotated Bibliographies (Overview & Examples)
- Annotated Bibliography Sample from APA
- Sample Annotated Bibliography Entries in MLA, APA, Chicago (U of Oklahoma CLS)
Technical Writing in Science and Engineering
Writing an Abstract
Abstracts briefly summarize the main findings of a paper or book. By reading an abstract, the reader can tell whether or not a paper or book will cover the material in which they are interested.
These sites have good information on writing an abstract:
Not all information published in books or on the internet is credible or appropriate for your needs. It is important to make sure the sources you use are credible and at the right level for what you are doing.
These pages are useful guides to evaluate your sources:
Citing Sources & Plagiarism
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:email@example.com