GPP453-Public Policy and Social Issues: Web Resources

Selected Reference Sources

• ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States

  REF HA202 .P76 (2014 - present)
  This title continues the Statistical Abstract of the United States, a title no longer published by the US Census Bureau. The latest edition is available in print at the Reference Desk (REF DESK HA202 .P76).

• Statistical Abstract of the United States

  REF HA202 .S797 (Title ends in 2012, continued by ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States)
  The Abstract is a summary of selected statistics on the "social, political, and economic organization of the United States" with an emphasis on national data available 1878 to date in PDF format. Archived editions are available online from the U.S. Census Bureau.

• Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics : Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data

  REF HD8051 .H36 (1997 - present)
  The Handbook includes employment and unemployment statistics in the USA, earnings figures, union membership counts, OSHA concerns, and much more. The Handbook also includes introductions to each chapter, giving the reader summary of the most important data, necessary definitions to understand the data, and references to further reading.

• Federal Regulatory Guide

  REF KF5406 .A15 F4 (latest edition)
  Consists of introductory essays that provide an overview of federal regulation followed by detailed profiles of the largest regulatory agencies.

• Massachusetts Municipal Directory

  REF JS451 .M47 M33 (latest 2 editions)
  Published by the Massachusetts Municipal Association, this directory provides fiscal and demographic data and the names, titles and contact information for all the cities and towns in Massachusetts.

• Book of the States

  REF JK2403 .B62 (1982/1983 - present, latest edition at Reference Desk)
  Written primarily for policy-makers and managers in state government, this annual publication produced by The Council of State Governments provides information and data (e.g. summary of federal government expenditure by state) on many areas in state government. It also reports on trends in areas such as government accounting, auditing and treasury.

• CSG State Directory

  REF JK2403 .B623 (latest issues only)
  Issued annually by The Council of State Governments, the Directory consists of three volumes. Directory I---Elective Officials contains the names and contact information for state officials such as the governor, secretary of state, attorney general and treasurer. Directory II---Legislative Leadership, Committes and Staff identifies and provides contact information for Senate and House officers, heads of selected Standing Committees, and Legislative Agency staff. Directory III---Administrative Officials "provides basic information about elected and appointed officials with primary responsibility in more than 110 state government functions."

• State Tax Handbook

  REF KF6750 .C66S72 (current year only)
  Provides an overview of taxation schemes for each state plus multistate charts on income, sales, and use taxes. Includes state administrative provisions.

• Cultures of the States: a Handbook on the Effectiveness of State Governments

  REF JK2408 .F79 2003
  The authors have collected and analyzed state statistics on mortality, health, education, crime and punishment, and the economy and created state comparisons as well as a "problems profile" for each state.

• State Rankings

  REF. HA203 .U17 (1990 - present)
  This annual publication provides over 500 tables of state comparisons in areas such as agriculture, education, energy and the environment etc.

• The Municipal Year Book (ceased)

  REF JS342 .A2 I52 (1939, 1950, 1968, 1971, 1973-79, 1981 - 2015)
  The International City/County Management Association published this annual which includes articles and data that address local government concerns. Broad categories include: management trends and issues, intergovernmental issues, staffing and compensation, and directories.

• County and City Extra : Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book

  REF HA203 .C68
  Provides "the most up-to-date statistical information available for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities in the United States with a 2000 population of 25,000 or more." Data for towns and cities under 25,000 population can be found in the companion publication Places, Towns, and Townships (REF HA203 .P58). Data from the 2000 Census is also presented in the County and City Data Book (REF HA202 .A36).

• Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy

  REF JK9 .E526 2003
  This two-volume work "provides the reader with (article-length) entries concerning the salient theories, issues, and concepts wihin the broad fields of public administration and public policy."

• Handbook of Public Administration

  REF JF1351 .H36 2003
  Well-organized handbook containing essays on topics such as human resource management, budgeting and finance, and law and administration. The Handbook is also available as an e-book from Sage Reference Online.

• Handbook of Comparative and Development Public Administration

  REF JF1351 .H267 2001
  This volume contains essays on topics in public administration and public policy in developed and developing nations, and also contains essays that focus on the political and administrative roles of public bureaucracy.

• U.S. Government Manual

  Available online from 1995-96 to present. "As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees." The latest edition of the United States Government Manual is also available in print (REF JK421 .A3) at the Sawyer Library Reference Desk.