LibGuides: LAW137-Saudi Arabia Legal System: Articles/Journals

How to Find Specific Journal

You can search our E-journal Finder by exact title of the journal “Title begins with” or by one word in the journal title “Title contains” or you can use “Browse e-journals by subject” and click on the drop box and select your subject

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely-accessible Web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

How to Find Articles & Journals in the Library

Library databases are used to locate references to journal articles, newspaper articles, chapters of books, research reports, book reviews, and conference proceedings. When choosing a database to search you may want to consider geographic coverage, subject specialization, availability of full-text and time period coverage. Library staff can assist you with choosing databases and finding information for your topic. The Library Subject Guides provide you with a quick start list of databases relevant to your subject area.

Tips for Better Database Searching

define keywords
direction words
limit words
linking search terms
complex searches
too much information
not enough information

Librarians can also help you with any questions you have. Speak with them in person or send a query online to Ask A librarian

Selected Databases for Law & International Relation

United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC): This is a comprehensive, searchable database of bilateral and multilateral treaties and international agreements registered with the UN Secretariat since 1946. It is essential for international law and diplomacy research and is freely available through the UN Treaty Collection
UN Audiovisual Library of International Law: This multimedia resource offers a unique collection of historical archives, a permanent lecture series by leading scholars and practitioners, and a research library with links to essential documents, jurisprudence, and scholarly writings. It is a valuable tool for training and research, available on the UN's website.
GlobaLex: Published by NYU School of Law, GlobaLex provides expert-authored articles and research guides on foreign, international, and comparative law. These guides offer excellent overviews of legal research in specific jurisdictions and topics, with links to primary resources. You can find their guides at GlobaLex (NYU School of Law).
EUR-Lex: This portal offers direct, free access to European Union law, including the EU's founding treaties, international agreements, legislation, and case law from the Court of Justice of the EU. It is available on Europa.eu.
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: This resource focuses on historical documents in law, history, and diplomacy, providing digital copies of significant materials such as treaties dating back to ancient times. You can explore it via the Avalon Project.
Refworld: Managed by the UNHCR (UN Refugee Agency), Refworld is an essential database for research related to refugees, containing a vast collection of country reports, policy documents, and information on national and international legal frameworks concerning human rights and refugee status. Access is available through Refworld.