LibGuides: Libguides: Welcome to Hasan Abbas Sharbatly E-Library

Selected Databases for Health and Medical Sciences

BMJ - British Medical Journals BMJ journals represent some of the leading titles in the medical field.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ClinicalKey ClinicalKey is a clinical insight engine designed to quickly return point-of-care, educational, and research information with a single keyword search. MEDLINE citations, research articles, book chapters, point-of-care summaries, images, charts, graphs, and video procedures are all included in result sets. ClinicalKey replaces Elsevier's longstanding MD Consult, Procedures Consult, and First Consult platforms.
Jaypee Digital Medical eBooks Jaypee Digital is offering a wide choice of professional and reference books, journals and most importantly a few thousand surgical video clips. It is one comprehensive source of medical information from top Indian and overseas Key Opinion Leaders in the industry with evidence and case based publishing program from India. Jaypee Digital gives access to more than 1215 e-books from Jaypee and 2250 videos on surgical procedures performed by experts from across the world. It includes various medical subject categories which encompass E-books, Journals and Procedural and Surgical Videos for academicians, students and also practitioners.
MEDLINE Complete MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
OVID Offers a range of different health related databases which contain journal article references. Journal articles are a good source of up-to-date health information and health related research.
ScienceDirect Over 2,500 peer-review journals and 6,000 e-books published by Elsevier are indexed. This is a scientific database covering the physical, life and health sciences, as well as the social sciences and humanities. Full-text articles are available from 2007.
Springer Link Access to over 1,200 peer-review full text journals mostly in the medical and engineering disciplines. Most journals are provide PDF of articles from 1996 to present.
Thieme Medical Description: Thieme is an international medical and science publisher serving health professionals and students. Thieme offers a wide range of health-science journals focusing on neurosurgery, otolaryngology, orthopedic surgery, ophthalmology, radiology, complementary and alternative medicine, audiology and speech and language pathology.
UpToDate UpToDate is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians throughout the world provides the best patient care. We use current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. This saves clinicians time, improves outcomes and lowers health care costs.

Selected Databases for Business

Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Cambridge Journals Full Collection Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
EBSCOhost Research Databases EBSCO is a multidisciplinary database covering the social sciences, business and engineering disciplines.
Emerald Emerald contains the journals and books in the areas of business and social sciences from one publisher only, Emerald Group Publishing. All journals and all but the most recent books are available in full text.
JSTOR –Business I, II, III JSTOR databases are multidisciplinary databases that cover business, education, language, literature, and science. Provides an historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1900s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year.
OECD iLibrary OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Program for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.
World Bank Database This site is meant to provide all users with improved access to World Bank data and to make that data easy to find and use.

Selected Databases for Science

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
BioMedCentral BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Computer Science Index Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 6,500 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid-1960s.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
EBSCOhost Research Databases EBSCO is a multidisciplinary database covering the social sciences, business and engineering disciplines.
Environment Index Description: Environment Index contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to the 1888 (including more than 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 200 monographs. Environment Index also features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles will be provided for 6,500
IOP - Science Journal articles from the Institute of Physics.
ScienceDirect Over 2,500 peer-review journals and 6,000 e-books published by Elsevier are indexed. This is a scientific database covering the physical, life and health sciences, as well as the social sciences and humanities. Full-text articles are available from 2007.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
IEEE The IEEE/IET provides access to full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals (formerly IEE); IET conference proceedings. IEEE published standards and redlines versions and IEEE draft standards. IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. IEEE eLearning Library: all IEEE educational courses through the IEEE Learning Management System.

Selected Databases for Humanities & Social Sciences

Academic Search Complete Description: Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Cambridge Journals Full Collection Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Description: Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals in all subject areas.
Hospitality & Tourism Index Description: Hospitality & Tourism Index is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database contains more than 749,000 records from nearly 650 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1965.
Humanities International Index Description: Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals and contains more than 2.9 million records.
Oxford Reference: Oxford Quick Reference Cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference e-books published by Oxford University Press and the Oxford Companions Series
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.

Selected Databases for Engineering

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Art & Architecture Index Art & Architecture Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 periodicals and over 230 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 additional publications.
Cambridge Journals Full Collection Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
Computer Science Index Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 6,500 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid-1960s.
IOP - Science Journal articles from the Institute of Physics.
NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.
Springer Link Access to over 1,200 peer-review full text journals mostly in the medical and engineering disciplines. Most journals provide PDF of articles from 1996 to present.
ScienceDirect Over 2,500 peer-review journals and 6,000 e-books published by Elsevier are indexed. This is a scientific database covering the physical, life and health sciences, as well as the social sciences and humanities. Full-text articles are available from 2007.
World Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology (WASET) (WASET) is an open access full text database of peer-reviewed scientific literature.
IEEE The IEEE/IET provides access to full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals (formerly IEE); IET conference proceedings. IEEE published standards and redlines versions and IEEE draft standards. IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. IEEE eLearning Library: all IEEE educational courses through the IEEE Learning Management System.