Master's in Genetic Counselling (MGC): Web Resources

• Human Genome Project Gateway to links about the Human Genome Project and genetic diseases.

• Genetics and Rare Disease Information Center A portal to rare disease information and research from the NIH.

• UCSC Genome Bioinformatics Sequencing and annotation data from the University of California Santa Cruz.

• Public Health Genomics Full of genomics and disease prevention resources, from the CDC.

• Bioinformatics Tutorial Series (BITS) From MIT, video tutorials to help you understand research tools for bioinformatics.

• Primer on Molecular Genetics A primer on basic genetics and the science of the Human Genome Project.

• Gene Gateway A collection of guides and tutorials to help you understand molecular genetics.

• Genetics Home Reference Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

• DNA Learning Center From Cold Spring Harbor's Laboratory

• Genecards   a human gene compendium from the Weizmann Institute of Science

• Genetics Home Reference  Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions

• Learn Genetics  Learn Genetics delivers educational materials on genetics, bioscience and health topics. They are designed to be used by students, teachers and members of the public

• Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man  OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. 

• The Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms

• Understanding Genetics  from the Stanford School of Medicine's Tech Museum. Includes online exhibits, Ask a Geneticist, and Ethics and Issues pages.

• 123 Genomics
• Cytogenetics Gallery
• Dolan DNA Learning Center
• Genomics & Chemical Genetics - Howard Hughes Medical Institute
• Genomics.Energy.Gov
• GOLD: Genomes Online Database
• Human Chromosome Launchpad
• Learn Genetics: Genetic Science Learning Center
• MGI - Mouse Genome Informatics
• NCBI Genome Resource Guides
• PRIMER: Genomics and Its Impact on Science and Society: The Human Genome Project and Beyond (2008)
• Public Health Genomics - CDC
• Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms

• National Human Genome Research Institute
• National Center for Biotechnological Information (NCBI) from National Library of Medicine   (includes GeneBank, Entrez,  Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.) 
• GenBank
• The Genome Database
• Institute Pasteur - Biological Databases
• Genome Statute and Legislation Database - from NHGRI
• Policy, legal and ethical issues in genetic research - from NHGRI
  WHO, ELSI Genetics Regulation Database

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.