Copy of MOL126-Molecular Medicine II| Course Guide: Web Resources

• Berkeley Drosophila Genome Project - decoding the fruit fly
• Biology Workbench - search popular protein and nucleic acid sequence databases with integrated analysis and modelling tools and tutorials
• Biomolecular and Biochemical databases - two dozen general, DNA, RNA and protein databases
• Computational Molecular Biology at NIH - molecular biology databases, desk reference and other resources
• European Bioinformatics Institute: EMBL - databases including nucleic acid, protein and macromolecular structures
• GeneCards: human genes, proteins and diseases - GeneCards is a database of human genes, their products and their involvement in diseases with particular relevance to functional genomics and proteomics.
• GenomeNet - includes the Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG) with the LIGAND database for enzyme reactions and metabolic and regulatory pathways data
• Molecular Biology Database List - annual listing and review of molecular biology database resources appearing in the first issue of each volume of Nucleic Acids Research. Essential reference.
• National Center for Biotechnology Information - one of the great biochemistry and molecular biology websites offering free databases and information on molecular processes affecting human health and disease. Resources include PubMed, GenBank, gene taxonomy database, 3D structural databases, OMIM, Blast, Entrez, EMBL, DDBJ, PIR, SWISS-PROT, PRF, PDB and many more. It's too big to describe - just go there!
• Nucleic Acid Database Biological Structure Resource - nucleic acid database, structure finder, 'a la mode' & mmCIF
• Protein data bank and international repository for 3-D macromolecular structure data
• Saccharomyces Genome Database - molecular biology and genetics of Saccharomyces cerevisiae (baker's yeast).
• Sequence Analysis Resources for Molecular Biologists - from the Baylor College of Medicine Human Genome Sequencing Center

• BioMedNet - an "Internet community for biological & medical researchers" with Evaluated Medline (allows downloads into Endnote etc), databases, lab methods, tips for molecular biologists etc. Requires free registration
• BioWeb - resources for molecular and cell biologists
• CMS Molecular Biology Resource - consistently recommended compendium of Internet tools and resources for molecular biology, biotechnology, molecular evolution, biochemistry, and biomolecular modelling
• ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) Molecular Biology Server - protein databases and tools and molecular biology resource links including Amos' WWW Links to Biomolecular Servers - excellent site
• Human Genome Project Information - resources upon resources - major site
• Interactive Fly - a cyberspace guide to Drosophila genes and their roles in development
• Molecular Biology Notebook Online - online courses (Beginner's Guide, Advanced Level), annotated resources etc
• Pedro's BioMolecular Research Tools - a famous site and still very useful but in urgent need of updating.
• Photosynthesis and the world wide web - an online review article with links to sites

• Biofind: Insight for the Biotech Industry: This site includes the Biotech Rumor Mill, Biotech Jobs, Events, Chat, Business and Innovations.
• Bioinformatics FAQ
• LifeSciencesWorld: A site containing news, job listings and a directory to biotechnology resources on the internet.
• Dictionary of Cell Biology: Quick access to easily-understood and cross-referenced definitions of terms frequently encountered in reading the modern biology literature.
• Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: by David M. Glick.
• Genetics Virtual Library: Established by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Contains many sites on Genome projects.
• Genome: Searchable database of elements of the human genome, including genome regions, variations, and genome maps. Note that the database does not include human sequence data or raw mapping data.
• GenomeWeb
• GrainGenes: A compilation of molecular and phenotypic information on wheat, barley, oats, rye, and sugarcane. The project is supported by the USDA/NAL Plant Genome Research Program.
• Handbooks and Protocols Online
• Harvard Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology: Sponsored by the National Human Genome Research Institute, this site includes information about the goals, staff, funding, and recent developments in regards to the Human Genome Project. 
• The Human Genome Project: Sponsored by the National Human Genome Research Institute, this site includes information about the goals, staff, funding, and recent developments in regards to the Human Genome Project.
• Molecular Biology Protocols
• Protein Data Bank (PDB): Education Resources
• National Center for Biotechnology Information: Education Page
• Virtual Library of Developmental Biology: Produced by the Society for Developmental Biology. Contains links to sites on gene regulation and genetics, cell lineage and fate maps, and evolution and development.

• Amino Acid Explorer From Saint John's University.
• Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank (BMRB)
• BUBL Catalogue of Internet Resources Catalog of biochemistry and molecular biology websites.
• CSU Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
• Enzyme Nomenclature Database
  KEGG Ligand Database Chemical compounds and biological reactions database.
• Molecular Visualization Resources From University of Massachusetts - Amherst.
• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Reference Sequences Collection of data providing various DNA, transcripts and protein sequences from eukaryotes, bacteria and viruses.
• PubChem Database of chemicals/molecules. Similar to SciFinder.
• Research Collaboratory of Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) Protein Data Bank (PDB)
• Virtual Cell Animation Collection From North Dakota State University.
• Foldit Solve protein folding puzzles for science.

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.