Pathology: Web Resources

• AABB (American Association of Blood Banks)
• American Board of Pathology
• American Society for Clinical Pathology
• College of American Pathologists
• National Cancer Institute
• National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
• National Institutes of Health
• American Society of Cytopathology
• American Society of Hematology
• American Cancer Society
• American Red Cross
• American Association for Clinical Chemistry

Reference Websites:

• Pathology Outlines [comprehensive "online textbook" of pathology]
• PathCONSULT (Elsevier) [broad "online textbook" of pathology]
• The Knowledge Hub (USCAP) [collected educational materials form past USCAP conferences]
• CAP Cancer Reporting Checklists (College of American Pathologists)
• University of Virginia Pathology Tutorials [GU, gyne, hemepath, parasitology]
• Cancer Management Guidelines (BC Cancer Institute)
• eMedicine Pathology Articles [virtual textbook by entity]

Pathobiology:

• "Medical School Pathology" (John Minarcik)
• General Pathology Lectures [based on Robbin's first 10 chapters] [Youtube link]
• Corresponding "Multiheader" Slide-Based Histopathology Videos
• YouTube Pathology Lectures (based on the first 10 chapters of Robbins)
• The Basic Medical Pathology Series (NLM, UAB)
• The Online Interactive Pathology Laboratory (IPLAB) (UAB) [designed to compliment Robbins textbook]
• Basic Pathology Concepts Tutorial (JHU)

Unknown Case Conferences (weekly, monthly):

• Surgical Pathology Online Unknown Cases (JHU) [new cases weekly; free registration required]
• GI & Liver Pathology Case Conference (JHU) [2-4 new cases per month]
• Case of the Week (pathologyoutlines.com) [archived cases by category or diagnosis]
• Online Case Studies (U Pittsburgh) [new case weekly]
• Division of Cytopathology Interesting Case Conference (JHU) [>100 old cases; free registration required]
• Cytology Case of the Month (cytologystuff.com) archived cases
• PathMD AP/CP Board Review [monthly exam practice questions; question archive, answer archive,image archive]
• Case of the month (College of American Pathologists)
• Image of the week (Pathology Network, Lippincott)
• Enjoy pathology (U Colorado professor) [case collections in surg path, dermpath, and hemepath]

Pathology Atlases

• WebPathology (webpathology.com) [particularly strong in urologic/gynecologic/breast images]
• PathPedia e-Atlas (pathpedia.com) [histology and histopathology]
• SurgPath4U [library of entities by organ site with diagnostic feature walkthroughs]

Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology

• Bone Tumors - Tutorial for Residents (UMDNJ) [radiology and pathology, approach, cases, quizzes]

Breast Pathology

• Digital Atlas of Breast Pathology (UCHSC)

Dermatopathology

• Dermatopathology Terms Dictionary (DermPathTutor, U of Iowa) [includes some photomicrographs]
• Dermatology and Dermatopathology Glossary (UCSF) [with pictures and photomicrographs)
• Dermatology Terms Dictionary (U of Rochester) [good diagrams, morphology guide]
• DermAtlas [~10,000 dermatology and dermatopathology images]

Electron Microscopy

• Electron Microscopy for Pathologists (Virginia Commonwealth University) [mostly kidney and muscle]
• Normal Tissue Ultrastructure (University of Delaware)
• Normal Cell Ultrastructure (University of Delaware)

Gastrointestinal Pathology

• Division of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology - Case Conference (JHU)
• GI Pathology Tutorials (BU) [15 tutorials, 1300 commented images]
• Slide Carousel of GI Pathoogy Course for Medical Students (Pitt) [clinical, gross, micro correlated]
• Tulane GI Tutorial (Tulane) [commented photomicrographs]
• GI Pathology - An Image-Based CME Module (Upstate) [20 unknown cases]

Genitourinary Pathology

• WebPathology.com - A visual Survey of Urologic Pathology (Virginia Urology Center)
• WHO Classificaion of Urothelial Neoplasms - Tutorial (JHU)
• Gleason Grading of Prostatic Carcinoma - Introduction (JHU)
• Gleason Grading of Prostatic Carcinoma - Tutorial/Test (JHU)
• Male Genital Pathology Tutorial (UVa) [overview with images]

Gynecologic Pathology

• Gynecologic Pathology Tutorials (UVa):
  --->Vulva, Vagina, Cervix, Uterus, Tubes, Ovaries, Breast
• Digital Atlas of Gynecologic Pathology (UCHSC) [Vulva, Vagina, Cervix, Uterus, Tubes, Ovaries]
• Online Multimedia Lectures on Endometrial Pathology (by Dr. George Mutter, Harvard)
• Histopathology of the Uterine Cervix - digital atlas (IARC)

Head and Neck Pathology

• Atlas of Head and Neck Pathology (Ohio State U Medical Center) [online textbook by disease]

Hematopathology

• Lymph Node and Spleen Pathology (webpathology.com)
• HemePath Tutorial (UMDNJ) [solid tissue hematopathology]
• Microscopic Hematology Tutorial (UVa) [disorders of RBCs, WBCs, Platelets, etc.]
• Atlas of Hematology [great pictures]
• The Hematology Virtual Microscope - Interactive Syllabus (UMich)
• "Hematography" Case Studies (UofMinn)
• Hematopathology Case Studies (SUNY Upstate)
• Hematopathology Case Studies - Leukocyte Disorders (SUNY Upstate)

Infectious Disease Pathology

• Pathology of Infectious Diseases (Fujita Health University) [comprehensive atlas]
• Parasitology Tutorial (UVa)

Liver Pathology

• Diagnostic Liver Pathology by Randall Lee [UPMC] (online textbook of liver pathology)

Lung/Chest Pathology

• Practical Pathology of Chest Diseases - Case Studies (USCF)

Ophthalmic Pathology

• David C. Cogan Ophthalmic Pathology Collection
• Ophthalmic Pathology - Interactive Laboratory Guide

Renal Pathology

• Renal Pathology Tutorial (UNC) [organized by disease]
• UNC Nephropathology Biopsy Cases (UNC) [by case]

Transplant Pathology

• Transplant Pathology Internet Services (U Pittsburgh) [by organ]

General

• Cytopathology Atlas (JHU) [by organ system]
• General Cytopathology (JHU) [introduction to cytopathology]
• CytologyStuff.com Website (warning: commercial site, very "thinprep" oriented) [impressive site; atlases, lectures, tutorials, unknowns]
• Cytology Image Archive (Dr. JC Prolla, Brazil)
• Urine Sediment Tutorial (SUNY)
• Tutorial in Salivary Gland Cytology (Norwegian Association of Clinical Cytology)
• Thyroid FNA Atlas (Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology)

Unknown Cases / Case Conferences

• Case of the Month (International Academy of Cytology)
• Interesting Case Conference - Division of Cytopathology (JHU)
• Cytopathology Tutorial (JHU) [unknown case series by organ system]
• Case of the Month (Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology)
• Lung Cytology and FISH (Basel Institute for Pathology)
• Urinary Cytology and FISH (Basel Institute for Pathology)
• Case of the Month (Australian Society of Cytology)
• Cytosleuth Quiz Cases (BC Cancer Agency)
• Case of the Month (New Zealand Society of Cytology)

Cervical

• Cervical Dysplasia Tutorial (SUNY)
• Bethesda System Self Test (American Society of Cytopathology)
• Bethesday System Atlas (American Society of Cytopathology)
• Cytopathology of the Uterine Cervix - Digital Atlas (IARC Screening Group)
• Challenges in Cytology Online E-Learning Program (New South Wales Dept of Health)

Fine-Needle Aspiration (Procedure)

• FNA Techniques Videos (Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology)
• Guidelines from the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology
• FNA Procedure and Reporting
• Preparation of Smears
• Thyroid FNA
• Lymph Node FNA (IARC Screening Group)

Ultrasound-Guided Fine-Needle Aspiration (Procedure)

• Ultrasound-Guided FNA

Ancilliary Testing

• Flow Cytometry and Fluorescence video tutorials from Invitrogen [warning: corporate source]

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

• Check the Library home page.
• See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
• Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
• Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.