LibGuides: Pathogenesis of Diseases: Web Resources

Google

Pathogenesis of Diseases Related Websites

How alcohol negatively impacts sleep
Why smokers get poor-quality sleep
Non-drug therapies for sleep disorders
CDC Health Topics--A to Z
Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Medline Interactive Health Tutorials--Diseases
MedlinePlus
WinkingSkull.com
Science Daily Search by disease or topic; science newspaper; highlights current ‘Health & Medicine News’. Search by A-Z disease or keyword index; links to abstracts and full text articles sometimes provided.
MedlinePlus Health Topics Guide to health topics provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; overviews, research, treatment and links to journal articles within PubMed provided.
Health Reference Center Academic Use the library home page; choose; Finding Articles; choose; Biology & Science; choose; Health Reference Center Academic; search by topic and select “Magazines’ or ‘Newspapers’ link at top
Centers for Disease Control The Centers for Disease Control website offers a variety of free information provided by this government agency. Use the simple A-Z index to find tertiary information on diseases, prevention, treatment and related topics
The Immune System – This introduction to the immune system goes into greater detail about how the system fights the invaders in the body.
The Adaptive Immune System – Find out how the lymphoid system works together with the immune system to keep the body healthy.
Immune System Basics – The immune system is a complicated network of tissues which work together to fight antigens and pathogens.
Respiratory System – Find out what part each piece of the respiratory system plays in the body.
Respiratory System Diagram – Get a better idea of the structure of the lungs and other organs in the respiratory system and where they are in the body.
Respiratory System Game – The game quizzes students on their knowledge of the respiratory system.
Introduction to the Digestive System – Enzymes play an important part in digestion. This article explains their role, as well as the role played by the major organs.
Your Digestive System and How It Works – This PDF document explains how food is digested as it travels through the digestive system.
The Endocrine System – Discover the role hormones play in the health and development of the body.
The Endocrine System Communicators – Like the nervous system, the endocrine system is a communication system. Learn how this system transmits messages throughout the body.
Endocrine System Diseases – When something goes wrong with one of the glands in the endocrine system, the effect can be devastating to a person’s health.
The Immune System – This introduction to the immune system goes into greater detail about how the system fights the invaders in the body.
The Adaptive Immune System – Find out how the lymphoid system works together with the immune system to keep the body healthy.
Immune System Basics – The immune system is a complicated network of tissues which work together to fight antigens and pathogens.
MesotheliomaHub – Mesothelioma Hub is your ultimate source for the latest information about mesothelioma and other asbestos-related illnesses.

Pathogenesis of Diseases Professional Associations

Pathogenesis of Diseases Medical Images

HONmedia - Medical images HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.
Public Health Image Library from the CDC Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files to illustrate public health issues.
Public Health Image Library from the CDC Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files to illustrate public health issues.
NIH Image Bank Browsable collection of images from all NIH Institutes.
Pathology Education Instruction Resource (PEIR) Digital Library Pathology images, searchable by keyword.
Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Images from the History of Medicine (NLM) Comprising almost 70,000 images from the Prints and Photographs Collection as well as other collections held in the History of Medicine Division, IHM is one of the largest image databases in the world dedicated to images of medicine, dentistry, public health, the health professions, and health institutions.
Gray's Anatomy (1918 Edition)
Images @ PMC Images database comprises approximately 3 million images from biomedical literature deposited in full text resources at the NCBI, including journal articles in PMC (formerly PubMed Central). This is a great source for searching for articles based on graphs, images, etc. in the article. Do a search, and look for image results on the right.
Body Maps Visualize the human body in 3D with animated, rotatable, and cross-section views. Can focus on specific systems or organs as well.
Open-i Image search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes limits by imaging type, medical specialty, etc. Can also search by image (i.e., show it a picture of what you want.)

Drug Information for Pathogenesis of Diseases

MedlinePlus: Drugs & Supplements Summary of drug information. Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.
LactMed Search A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
PubMed Home PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature.
HSDB Search
Covers the toxicity and biomedical effects of chemicals. It focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas.
TOXLINE Search Contains citations to the toxicological literature that is available under the TOXNET system.
The PubChem Project Contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
Drugs@FDA U.S. Food and Drug Administration information about specific approved drugs, including dosage forms, equivalents, and therapeutic information.

Pathogenesis of Diseases in Saudi Arabia

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

Check the Library home page.
See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.