Skip to main content

PubMed| Subject Guide: Home

Library materials and useful resources compiled by Alfaisal University librarians

About PubMed.gov

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubMed is available via the NCBI Entrez retrieval system.

Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.

What's the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed?

Medicine Federated Search

 

Summon is the discovery layer to Alfaisal library - searching our library catalogue, databases, journals and eBook collections - just like Google for the Library!

Add Alfaisal Library Linkout to My NCBI Preferences

  1. Click on the "My NCBI" link in the upper right hand corner of the blue bar at the top of the PubMed page.
  2. Sign into My NCBI (or register if you haven't already done so.)
  3. Click on the "My NCBI" link at the top right again. You'll see a page labeled "My NCBI" with several boxes of options.
  4. Click on "NCBI Site Preferences" in the gray near the top at the right.
  5. Click on "PubMed Filters & Icons" under "PubMed Preferences."
  6. Under "Browse/Search for PubMed Filters," click the circle next to "LinkOut."
  7. Click on "Libraries."
  8. Find Alfaisal University Library, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in the alphabetical list of libraries. Click both buttons to the left of "Alfaisal University Library, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia"
  9. Click on "My NCBI" again in the top blue bar at the right.
  10. The My NCBI page should now show "Alfaisal University Library, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia" and "Alfaisal University Library, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Provider Icon)" listed next to "PubMed Filters & Icons."
  11. You're all set - you'll now see the Alfaisal University Library filter and buttons in PubMed when signed into My NCBI.
  12. To get back to PubMed, in the blue bar at the top left, under "Resources" select "Literature" and then "PubMed."

Limit to Alfaisal Library Full Text

1. Search PubMed on your topic

2. Select the Alfaisal University Library filter in the right margin

3. Select the article title to access the record

4. Look for "Alfaisal Full-text" button in the right margin

Icon for Alfaisal University Library, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

5. Select the full text button and login

6. Article or record with full text links should load in new window

Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:librarian@alfaisal.edu