LibGuides: UPP : Web Resources

Google

English Related Websites

British Library Journals
Open Access Journals for Language and Literatures A listing of journals from the Directory of Open Access Journals.
The Labyrinth
Making of America Brown University Women Writers Project
Luminarium
Modern Language Assocation
National Council of Teachers of English
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)
VOA Voice of America

Mathematics

Today's Mathematician
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
History of Mathematics (Univ. of Tenn. at Knoxville)
The History of Mathematics (Trinity College, Dublin)
Euclid 1: Oliver Byrne's 1847 Edition of Euclid (Books 1-6) in colored diagrams
Euclid 2: Euclid's Elements (with live Java diagrams)
Euclid 3: The Visual Elements of Euclid (Books 1-6, each proposition broken down into a series of colored graphics)
Archimedes Home Page
The Analyst of George Berkeley (Entire Text)
The Euler Archive
History of Statistics

Chemistry

CASSI Search Tool The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
Chemical Information Sources (ChemInfo) (Indiana University)
ChemSpider ChemSpider is a free-to-access collection of compound data from across the web, provided for the benefit of the community by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and makes it available to everybody.
Links for Chemists (University of Liverpool)
Material Safety Data Sheets Information
MSDSSearch Interace for major Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) servers
NIST Chemistry WebBook Chemical and Physical Property data
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health)

Physics

Biographical Sources in the Sciences -- General Works and National Sources
"This guide offers a systematic approach to the wide variety of published biographical information on men and women of science and technology. Both historical and contemporary scientists are covered, with emphasis on Americans."
Clifford Glenwood Shull Collection
Site is the full-text digital archive of Clifford Glenwood Shull, winner of the 1994 Nobel Prize in Physics. Collection allows users to explore Shull's papers, correspondence, teaching materials, and other items related to his work.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
International in scope, this resource from the University of California at Los Angeles provides information on over 50 female physicists. You can search by an individual's name or by a specific area of physics.
Enrico Fermi and the Nuclear Chain Reaction
Visitors to this digital collection created by The University of Chicago Library can learn about Fermi through a selection of materials, including hand-written notes, papers, and images.
Famous Physicists
This page, maintained by D. Mark Manley, lists physicists of the classical period and Nobel Laureates. There is a brief description of each and a link to further information.
Nobel Laureates in Physics, 1901-Present
Lists Nobel laureates and provides brief biographical entries with a description of the work that earned the Nobel Prize.
Physicists of the African Diaspora
Includes a timeline and biographical information on physicists of the African Diaspora (African American, West Indian, etc.) with photographs and information on contemporary physicists.
Profession Jokes - Physicists
Collection of jokes, limericks, cartoons featuring physicists and astronomers. Maintained by David Shay.
The Official Site of Richard Feynman
Includes videos, quotes, photos, and selected works.

Obtaining Further Help

Further help can be obtained via a number of different methods:

Check the Library home page.
See the Library staff at the Reference/Circulation desk.
Use the Ask A Librarian from which we aim to respond to within 2 working days
Take a Library skills course - see our our Information Lieracy page.

UPP : Web Resources

Google

English Related Websites

Mathematics

Biology

Chemistry

Physics

Obtaining Further Help