Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA (5th), MLA (7th), Chicago (15th), Turabian (7th)
APA (6th), MLA (7th), Chicago, and Turabian
(Univ. of North Carolina) APA (5th), MLA (7th), CBE (7th), Chicago (15th)
APA (5th), MLA (7th), and Chicago (15th)
SourceAid Citation Builder
APA, MLA, CBE/CSE, and Chicago
"The greatest value of a picture is when it forces us to notice what we never expected to see."
—John W. Tukey. Exploratory Data Analysis. 1977.
FlowingData explores how statisticians, designers, data scientists, and others use analysis, visualization, and exploration to understand data and ourselves.
Information is Beautiful
Dedicated to distilling the world’s data, information and knowledge into beautiful, interesting and, above all, useful visualizations, infographics and diagrams.
[from About] Edward Tufte has declared chartjunk as an enemy of clear, informative graphics of data. Chartjunk is everywhere, particularly in mainstream media. I am a junk artist dedicated to recycling chartjunk as junk art. Please come in and see my collection.
What is Data Management?
"Data management is the process involved in creating, obtaining, transforming, sharing, protecting, documenting and preserving data."
Kelle O'Neal of BeyeNetwork
Data Management Timeline
Research data management covers the planning, creating, storing, organising, accessing, sharing, describing, publishing and curating of data.
Why Manage Your Data? (A short, focused article by Georgia Tech Libraries.)
Image & intro text credit: Research Data Management. Curtin Library of Curtin University, Perth, West Australia
Data Management Web Resources
Research Data MANTRA is a free, non-assessed course with guidelines to help you understand and reflect on how to manage the data you collect throughout your research. The course is particularly appropriate for those who work with digital data.
Research Data Managment (LibGuide) is an introduction to research data management, including benefits and obligations. This extensive Library Guide is curated by the Curtin University Library of West Perth, Australia.
Writing a Data Management Plan provides table of questions that can help you to begin to think about how you will manage your data and the answers will be useful for developing the content of a data management plan.
Best Practices in Data Management provides a list of practices that are fundamental to effective data management and can be applied to all disciplines.
A research tool with highlighting, sticky notes, web screenshot capture, & collaborative elements. (The acronym stands for Digest of Internet Information, Groups, and Other stuff.)
A bookmarking app without the social sharing aspect of Delicious or Diigo. Includes a basic Reader for articles. Per the developers, Kippt consolidates "the workflow of finding, reading, storing, searching and sharing information on the web." The application integrates with both Instapaper and Readability.
Formally Read it Later, a FREE app available on iOS, Android, the Kindle Fire, and as an extension for your browser. Seamlessly and automatically syncs between all of your devices. It provides bookmarking and formatting your articles—with added support for photos and videos. You can save items from your browser, from email, or from other apps like Twitter, Google Reader, etc.
The Digital Research Data Lifecycle
Selected Books on Data Management
Data Collection by
Publication Date: 2008-04-04
Data Collection Data Collection is the second of six books in the Measurement and Evaluation Series from Pfeiffer. The proven ROI Methodology-developed by the ROI Institute-provides a practical system for evaluation planning, data collection, data analysis, and reporting.
Warranty Data Collection and Analysis by
Publication Date: 2011-07-28
Warranty Data Collection and Analysis deals with warranty data collection and analysis and the problems associated with these activities. The book is a both a research monograph and a handbook for practitioners. As a research monograph, it unifies the literature on warranty data collection and analysis, and presents the important results in an integrated manner. In the process, it highlights topics that require further research. As a handbook, it provides the essential methodology needed by practitioners involved with warranty data collection and analysis, along with extensive references to further results. Models and techniques needed for proper and effective analysis of data are included, together with guidelines for their use in warranty management, product improvement, and new product development.
Ensuring the Integrity, Accessibility, and Stewardship of Research Data in the Digital Age by
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Examines the consequences of the changes affecting research data with respect to three issues - integrity, accessibility, and stewardship-and finds a need for a new approach to the design and the management of research projects. The report recommends that all researchers receive appropriate training in the management of research data, and calls on researchers to make all research data, methods, and other information underlying results publicly accessible in a timely manner.
Selected Books on Displaying Your Data
How to Display Data by
Publication Date: 2009-04-08
Effective data presentation is an essential skill for anybody wishing to display or publish research results, but when done badly, it can convey a misleading or confusing message. This new addition to the popular "How to" series explains how to present data in journal articles, grant applications or research presentations clearly, accurately and logically, increasing the chances of successful publication.
JMP 10 Basic Analysis and Graphing, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
In JMP, you choose from a wide repertoire of interactive graphs to help your data best tell its story. Delve into JMP 10 Basic Analysis and Graphing to find the ideal graph for your data, from basic distributions, bubble plots, scatterplots, and parallel plots to geographic maps and tree maps
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:firstname.lastname@example.org