LibGuides: Research Methods Information : Using Style Guides

Browse by Subject

Thesis Structure vs Thesis Format

How a thesis is structured is not the same thing as how it is formatted.

The Help With Writing page on this guide explains the difference!

Samples of Papers Formatted Using Authorized Style Guides

2014 End of Program Assessment Manual for Graduate Studies

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR
THESIS/CAPSTONE PAPERS

The 2014 revised edition of the End of Program Assessment Manual states

"The citation approach and manuscript formatting is established by the program or school’s officially designated style manual; however, the title page must follow the format shown in Appendix 4" (p. 38).

APA: Sample Paper | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
An abridged manuscript (in PDF format) that illustrates the page formatting of a research paper. Includes advisory notes for each part.
APA: Sample Paper: One-Experiment Paper | American Psychological Association
This sample paper (in PDF format) is an example of a one-experiment paper that demonstrates APA Style elements.
APA: Sample Paper: Two-Experiment Paper | American Psychological Association
This abridged manuscript (in PDF format) illustrates the organizational structure characteristic of multiple-experiment papers written in APA Style.
CMS: Author Date Sample Paper | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This resource contains the Author Date sample paper for The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.).
CMS: Notes Bibliography Sample Paper | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This resource contains the Notes and Bibliography (NB) sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
MLA: Sample Paper | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This resource contains a sample MLA paper that adheres to the 2009 updates.
The Bluebook
The Bluebook, published and distributed by the Harvard Law Review Association, contains no information on page layout/formatting. The guide covers only legal citation practice.
Turabian: Sample Paper | Liberty University (VA)
NOTE: The Turabian Style Guide is based on the Chicago Manual of Style CMS). If in doubt, consult the CMS.

This resource contains an abridged sample paper that adheres to the 8th edition.

Using Style Guides

Using Citations Effectively | Resources

Effectively Using Direct Quotations
From the University of Richmond's Writing Center.

Integrating Quotes: Citing Sources Effectively in Academic Papers
Presented by Dennis G. Jerz, Associate Professor of English: New Media Journalism at Seton Hill University.
Use and Abuse of Citations
Chapter 7 Publishing Addiction Science: A Guide for the Perplexed. Edited by Thomas F. Babor, Kerstin Stenius, Susan Savva, and Jean O'Reilly. The entire book, which is highly recommended, is located at http://www.parint.org/isajewebsite/isajebook2.htm. Includes a useful chart that outlines the types of citations (referential & critical) and the functions of citations (verification, acknowledgment, & documentation)

Style Guide Tips/Guidance from the Style Guide Publishers

APA Style | Quick Answers - Formatting
FAQs on formatting.

APA Style | Quick Answers - References
FAQs on References.
APA Style | The Basics of APA Style
[From the website] "This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples."
APA Style | What's New in the 6th Edition
[From the website] "This tutorial provides an overview of key changes in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual, beginning with three overarching goals that guided the revision and ending with a detailed chapter-by-chapter list of new and expanded content."
Chicago Manual of Style Online | Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Brief overview of CMS citation style.
Chicago Manual of Style Online | Manuscript Preparation
Included: The Journals Division offers instructions for preparing manuscript files using Microsoft Word or WordPerfect, as well as special instructions for the preparation of tables and math.
The Bluebook | Blue Tips
Blue Tips: The editors provide authoritative guidance to reasonable questions on subjects covered by The Bluebook. The most useful answers are gathered here as Blue Tips, classified by subject. These tips are searchable and linked to the Bluebook content they address. Provided by the editors of The Columbia Law Review Association, Inc., The Harvard Law Review Association, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and The Yale Law Journal Company, Inc.
The Bluebook | Introduction
[from the website] "This introductory material is common to both the online and printed formats of The Bluebook. A multimedia introduction specific to The Bluebook Online® is available on this site's Tour page; additional material introducing the online format is available on this site's Help page. A description of The Bluebook's structure of Rules and Tables additional to the one below is also available at section 3.1 of the Help page."

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citationis compiled by the editors of the Columbia Law Review, the Harvard Law Review, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and The Yale Law Journal.
The Bluebook | Updates
Changes to The Bluebook's system of citation, rule and table numbering, and pagination occur only during major edition revisions. However, within an edition, small errors are corrected, references to changed external information are updated, and examples and text are occasionally improved. These minor updates are included in each new printing of the printed Bluebook
Turabian Manual | Quick Citation Guide
Brief overview with examples.

Video Resources | Using Style Guides

MLA & APA Style
From the OWL @ Purdue YouTube channel.
MLA Style Essay Format - Word Tutorial
Presented by Mr. David Taylor of the University of Marland University College Writing Center. MLA style essay formatting: margins, font, line spacing, header, info block, title, indentation, block quote, Works Cited. For a transcript of this video, please see the About section.
Understanding Plagiarism: Using A Documentation Style Guide
This video explains documentation style guides as an important resource for citing source material in your writing. The video provides examples of citation formatting that meet the criteria of a style guide. Presented by the University of Minnesota Department of Writing Studies.

Research Methods Information : Using Style Guides

Browse by Subject

Browse by Subject

Thesis Structure vs Thesis Format

Samples of Papers Formatted Using Authorized Style Guides

Using Style Guides

Using Citations Effectively | Resources

Style Guide Tips/Guidance from the Style Guide Publishers

Video Resources | Using Style Guides

Need More Help?