LibGuides: Research Methods Information : Methods/Methodologies

Browse by Subject

RSS: National Centre for Research Methods

The National Centre for Research Methods (NCRM) forms part of the Economic and Social Research Council’s (ESRC) strategy to improve the standards of research methods across the UK social science community.

RSS: Organizational Research Methods

Organizational Research Methods (ORM), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, brings relevant methodological developments to a wide range of researchers in organizational and management studies and promotes a more effective understanding of current and new methodologies and their application in organizational settings.

Flow Charts for Research Methods

Flow Chart of the Research Process
No author is noted for this diagram. It is in PDF format.

A flow chart is a "diagram that shows step-by-step progression through a procedure or system especially using connecting lines and a set of conventional symbols." [from Merriam-Webster.com]

Some people find using a flow chart a very good way of visualizing the research method process.

Flow Chart of Process for Research Involving Statistics
This is a Word document created in 2010 by Martha K. Smith for a Summer Statistics Institute course at the Department of Mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin.
"Meta Interpretation": A Method for the Interpretive Synthesis of Qualitative Research
This open acess journal article includes a detailed flow chart. Citation: Weed, M. (2005). "Meta Interpretation": A Method for the Interpretive Synthesis of Qualitative Research. Forum Qualitative Sozialforschung / Forum: Qualitative Social Research, 6(1). Retrieved from http://www.qualitative-research.net/index.php/fqs/article/view/508/1096

Conferences | New Researchers

Attending an Academic Conference
Good advice from the University of Washington (WA).

Giving an Oral Presentation
By Dr. Robert Labaree of USC Libraries. Be sure to check out the two sub-pages: Dealing with Nervousness" and "Using Visual Aids."
Poster and Presentation Resources
By The Graduate School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Should I Go To Graduate Student Conferences?
Insightful post from The Professor is In blog written by Dr. Karen Kelsky.

Publishing | New Researchers

Graduate Student's Guide to Publishing
By the University of Michigan Library.

star

Something to keep in mind is that it can be very difficult for students to publish in scholarly journals. Expectations are high. Most journals are looking for articles with a clear scientific hypothesis supported by original research that substantively adds to the scholarly literature in the field.

You might want to consider giving a paper or poster session at a scholarly conference about your study. Many of these may have special sessions like these for student engagement.

The following links may provide guidance.

A Graduate Student's Guide to Publishing Scholarly Journal Articles
Donna Lee Van Cott. PS: Political Science and Politics , Vol. 38, No. 4 (Oct., 2005), pp. 741-743. (This article link is open to APUS students and faculty only.)
Publishing Advice for Graduate Students.
By Thom Brooks (January 18, 2008).

Abstract: Graduate students often lack concrete advice on publishing. This essay is an attempt to fill this important gap. Advice is given on how to publish everything from book reviews to articles, replies to book chapters, and how to secure both edited book contracts and authored monograph contracts, along with plenty of helpful tips and advice on the publishing world (and how it works) along the way in what is meant to be a comprehensive, concrete guide to publishing that should be of tremendous value to graduate students working in any area of the humanities and social sciences.

The Research Cycle - Illustrated

The research cycle is rarely linear and often some (or all) stages will need to be revisited. Remember too that different disciplines and research topics may employ different approaches to research, which will impact on the process.

Image & intro text credit: The Research Cycle. Curtin Library of Curtin University, Perth, West Australia

Basic Definitions

Research

Systematic inquiry or investigation into a subject in order to discover or revise
facts, theories, applications. (Dictionary.com)

Sometimes referred to as research methodology.

Purposes of Research

Review or synthesize existing knowledge
Investigate existing situations or problems
Provide solutions to problems
Explore and analyse more general issues
Construct or create new procedures or systems
Explain new phenomenon
Generate new knowledge
or combination of any of the above

Research Types

"The ways of categorizing research studies."

Exploratory

"Research conducted for a problem that has not been clearly defined."

Looks for patterns, hypotheses or ideas that can be tested
Can help determine the best research design, data collection method, and selection of subjects
Used when few or no previous studies exist
Will often form the basis for further research

Confirmatory

"Research that looks to test (confirm) a prespecified relationship
(i.e, causal research that tests prior hypotheses)."

Can be quantitative
Can be qualitative
or both (mixed method)

Descriptive

"Research that identifies and classifies the elements or
characteristics of the subject."

Explains what occured
Does not answer questions about how, when, or why the characteristics occurred

Analytical

"Research that attempts to suggest or explain why or how
something is happening."

Often extends descriptive research
Is a type of confirmatory research

Predictive

"Research that attempts to forecast the likelihood
of something happening."

Speculates intelligently on future possibilities
Based on close analysis of currently available evidence of cause & effect.

Research Method

"The various specific tools or ways data can be collected & analyzed."
NOTE: A research method is part of research methodology.

Some examples of data collection methods: questionnaires; interviews, experiments, clinical trials
Some examples of data analysis methods: coding, content analysis, univariate analysis, multivariate analysis

Research Approach

      The general nature of a work of research that includes: the specific analytical
      objectives, the types of questions posed, the data collection methods used, the
        types of data produced, and the degree of flexibility in design of the study.

Quantitative

Systematic, empirical* investigation of social phenomena using statistical, mathematical or computational techniques.

Qualitative

Planned, empirical investigations that aim to gain a deep understanding of a specific organization or event, rather a than to compile a surface description of a large sample of a population via measurement.

Mixed Methods
- Planned investigation for collecting, analyzing, and “mixing” both quantitative and qualitative research and methods in a single study in order to understand a research problem from multiple perspectives.
Applied

Studies for which the aim from the start is to apply findings to a particular situation.

Basic

Studies for which the aim is to improve knowledge generally (i.e., no particular applied purpose in mind at the outset).

Deductive

Research that begins with a body of general information (such as theories, laws or a principle) and tries to draw a conclusion directly from that by testing a specific hypothesis (referred to as top-down research).

Inductive

Research that moves from specific observations to broader generalizations and theories (referred to as bottom-up research).

* Empirical = Empirical research applies observation and experience as the main modes of gathering data. Data collected is referred to as empirical evidence (which is then subjected to qualitative or quantitative analysis techniques in order to answer empirical questions).

Adapted from: Neville, Colin. Introduction to Research and Research Methods. (University of Bradford (UK), School of Managment, 2007); From the Online Glossary of Nath, Christine Nielsen's Dental Publish Health: Contemporary Practice for the Dental Hygienis t. 2nd edition. (Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2004); and from Straub, Detmar, David Gefen, and Marie-Claude Boudreau (2004). "The ISWorld Quantitative, Positivist Research Methods Website," (Ed) Dennis Galletta, http://www.dstraub.cis.gsu.edu:88/quant/. Last updated: January 7, 2005." Section 3: General Research Approaches; Chapter 3: Research Methods.

VIDEO: What is Research?

This promotional video from the University College Dublin nicely captures the wonder and excitement of why we do research.

Published February 20, 2013 | Runtime: 1:45 min.

General Reference Books: Research Methods

Addiction Research Methods by John Strang (Editor); Peter G. Miller (Editor); Peter M. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405176637
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
ddiction Research Methods' is a comprehensive handbook for health professionals, policy-makers and researchers working and training in the field of addiction.

The book provides a clear, comprehensive and practical guide to research design, methods and analysis within the context of the field of alcohol and other drugs. The reader is introduced to fundamental principles and key issues; and is orientated to available sources of information and key literature.
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by Nigel Bruce; Daniel Pope; Debbi Stanistreet
ISBN: 9780470022740
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
Quantitative Research Methods for Health Professionals: A Practical Interactive Course is a superb introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community.

Drawing examples from a wide range of health research, this practical handbook covers important contemporary health research methods such as survival analysis, Cox regression, and meta-analysis, the understanding of which go beyond introductory concepts.

The book includes self-assessment exercises throughout to help students explore and reflect on their understanding and a clear distinction is made between a) knowledge and concepts that all students should ensure they understand and b) those that can be pursued by students who wish to do so.
Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Science by Douglas Teti (Editor)
ISBN: 9780631222613
Publication Date: 2004-11-19
The Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Science is a collection of newly written articles that provide an overview of methods and approaches associated with the study of human development.

Contains accessible contributions from some of the most renowned developmental scientists in the field.
Provides basic information on the strengths and challenges inherent in traditional and complex research design.
Discusses successful intervention approaches that have been used to promote intellectual, social, and linguistic development.
Includes cutting-edge research that is forging new and exciting directions in developmental research.
Provides students and scholars with a working understanding of research approaches and issues in the developmental sciences.
Understanding Business Research by Bart L. Weathington; Christopher J. L. Cunningham; David J. Pittenger
ISBN: 9781118342947
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Explore the essential steps for data collection, reporting, and analysis in business research Understanding Business Research offers a comprehensive introduction to the entire process of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting findings in the business environment.
Visualizing Research by Carole Gray; Julian Malins
ISBN: 9780754680017
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
A practical guide to research methods in art and design, explaining and assessing approaches most suited to creative disciplines. The book describes each stage of research and includes real project examples.

OPEN ACCESS: Research Methods eBooks

e-Source: Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
20 interactive chapters with authoritative answers to methodological questions on behavioral and social science research. With contributions from a team of international experts, this anthology provides the latest information on addressing emerging challenges in public health. Published by the Office of Behavioral & Social Sciences Research, National Institutes of Health (USA)
The Research Methods Knowledge Base
By William M. Trochim (2006). The Research Methods Knowledge Base is a comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods. It covers the entire research process including: formulating research questions; sampling (probability and nonprobability); measurement (surveys, scaling, qualitative, unobtrusive); research design (experimental and quasi-experimental); data analysis; and, writing the research paper.
Social Research Methods | Concept Mapping
A resource guide for learning about structured conceptual mapping. It includes links to general introductory materials, research and case studies illustrating the use of the method, and information about software.
Social Research Methods | The Simulation Book
A previously unpublished book of manual (i.e., dice-rolling) and computer simulation exercises of common research designs, for students and researchers to learn how to do simple simulations.

VIDEOS: Advice for New Researchers

Dr. Alan Bryman on Research Methods
Alan Bryman, Professor of Organisational and Social Research at the University of Leicester, talks to Patrick Brindle, Research Methods Publisher at SAGE Publications, about what advice he would give to new researchers, and about his views on developments in the field of research methods.
Dr. David Morgan on Research Methods
David Morgan, Portland State University, talks to Patrick Brindle, Research Methods Publisher at SAGE Publications, about what advice he would give to new researchers.
Dr. Donna Mertens on Research Methods
Donna Mertens, Gallaudet University, and Editor of the Mixed Methods Journal, talks to Patrick Brindle, Research Methods Publisher at SAGE Publications, about what advice she would give to new researchers.
Dr. Leslie Curry on Research Methods
Leslie Curry, Yale University, talks to Patrick Brindle, Research Methods Publisher at SAGE Publications, about what advice she would give to new researchers, and about her views on developments in the field of research methods.

Research Methods Information : Methods/Methodologies