Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VIDEO: Choosing which Statistical Test to Use
About: "Seven different statistical tests and a process by which you can decide which to use. The tests are: Test for a mean, test for a proportion, difference of proportions, difference of two means - independent samples, difference of two means - paired, chi-squared test for independence and regression." From the Statistical Learning Centre (NZ).
Published Jan 31, 2012
Runtime: 9:33 min.
Selected Books on Using Statistics in the Humantities
Mixed Methods Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences by
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
Mixed methods research combines quantitative and qualitative research methods in a single study. The use of mixed methods research is increasingly popular in nursing and health sciences research. This growth in popularity has been driven by the increasing complexity of research problems relating to human health and wellbeing.
Mixed Method Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences is an accessible, practical guide to the design, conduct and reporting of mixed method research in nursing or the health sciences. Each chapter stands alone, describing the various steps of the research process, but contains links to other chapters. Within the text, 'real-life' examples from the published literature, doctoral theses and the unpublished work of the authors, illustrate the concepts being discussed.
Empirical Theology in Texts and Tables by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The first section of the book explores theoretical issues underpinning the main methods of obtaining empirical data, and the use of these data within theology. The other two sections display the role both of qualitative studies, and of the analysis of quantitative data, in exploring a range of theological beliefs and religious, social and educational concerns.
The Rise and Development of the Theory of Series up to the Early 1820s by
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
The theory of series in the 17th and 18th centuries poses several interesting problems to historians. Most of the results derived from this time were derived using methods which would be found unacceptable today, and as a result, when one looks back to the theory of series prior to Cauchy without reconstructing internal motivations and the conceptual background, it appears as a corpus of manipulative techniques lacking in rigor whose results seem to be the puzzling fruit of the mind of a magician or diviner rather than the penetrating and complex work of great mathematicians.
Visualizing Your Data
Visualizing data is not the same thing as visualizing statistical concepts. See this info box on this page for info on the latter.
VIDEO: Statistics Learning Center (NZ)
A trailer introducing the excellently scripted and presented videos and resources produced by Statistics Learning Centre (New Zealand). Videos are close captioned. The entire collection of over 30 videos can be viewed on the Centre's YouTube channel.
Presenter: Dr Nicola Ward Petty (aka Dr. Nic) has taught business statistics and operations research at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand for over twenty years. She was awarded a university teaching award in 2006 and has mentored other faculty, and developed innovative and successful courses to help people who find quantitative subjects difficult.
Published on April 24, 2013 | Runtime 1:09 min
Humorous Video: Sebastian Wernicke: Lies, Damned Lies and Statistics (about TEDTalks)
Learning statistics can stress people out.
"Here is a "a brilliantly tongue-in-cheek analysis, [biometrics expert] Sebastian Wernicke turns the tools of statistical analysis on TEDTalks, to come up with a metric for creating "the optimum TEDTalk" based on user ratings. How do you rate it? "Jaw-dropping"? "Unconvincing"? Or just plain "Funny"?" [From video description]
VIDEOS: Dancing Statistics
This elegant approach to visualizing statistical concepts via dance is the product of the British Psychological Society. Project title: 'Communicating Psychology to the Public through Dance' (AKA 'Dancing Statistics')
The video below is Dancing statistics: explaining the statistical concept of variance through dance. The remaining 3 videos of the set can be found at the BPS Media Centre YouTube page.
Statistics Training Videos/Podcasts
Probability and Statistics | Kahn Academy
Khan Academy is a not-for-profit educational organization started by Salman Khan in 2008. The videos include questions posted by users, many of which are similar to the kinds of questions usually asked by students in statistics classes.
Stat Trek | Teach Yourself Statistics Online
Learn at your own pace. Free statistics tutorials cover statistics, probability, and survey sampling - all explained in plain English. [from website]
Statistics & Research Methodology | Vanderbilt Kennedy Center
A collection of videos, podcasts, and links to other statistics and research methodology training materials.
Statistics Learning Center (NZ)
The Statistics Learning Center provides support for learning and teaching statistics in various settings and media. Materials materials are correct and based on current research on how statistics is best taught and learnt. Provided: Over 30 teaching videos related to statistics and Excel. Closed captioned.
General Reference Books: Statistical Analysis
Methods for Statistical Data Analysis of Multivariate Observations by
Publication Date: 1997-02-04
A practical guide for multivariate statistical techniques-- now updated and revised
In recent years, innovations in computer technology and statistical methodologies have dramatically altered the landscape of multivariate data analysis. This new edition of Methods for Statistical Data Analysis of Multivariate Observations explores current multivariate concepts and techniques while retaining the same practical focus of its predecessor. It integrates methods and data-based interpretations relevant to multivariate analysis in a way that addresses real-world problems arising in many areas of interest.
The Statistical Analysis of Failure Time Data by
Publication Date: 2002-09-09
ontains additional discussion and examples on left truncation as well as material on more general censoring and truncation patterns.
Introduces the martingale and counting process formulation swil lbe in a new chapter.
Develops multivariate failure time data in a separate chapter and extends the material on Markov and semi Markov formulations.
Presents new examples and applications of data analysis.
Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Biomedical Data by
Publication Date: 2002-05-23
The new edition adds a chapter on multiple linear regression in biomedical research, with sections including the multiple linear regressions model and least squares; the ANOVA table, parameter estimates, and confidence intervals; partial f-tests; polynomial regression; and analysis of covariance.
* Organized by problem rather than method, so it guides readers to the correct technique for solving the problem at hand.
Statistical Meta-Analysis with Applications by
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
An accessible introduction to performing meta-analysis across various areas of research
The practice of meta-analysis allows researchers to obtain findings from various studies and compile them to verify and form one overall conclusion. Statistical Meta-Analysis with Applications presents the necessary statistical methodologies that allow readers to tackle the four main stages of meta-analysis: problem formulation, data collection, data evaluation, and data analysis and interpretation. Combining the authors' expertise on the topic with a wealth of up-to-date information, this book successfully introduces the essential statistical practices for making thorough and accurate discoveries across a wide array of diverse fields, such as business, public health, biostatistics, and environmental studies.
Books on Select Statistical Techniques
This list is a selection of titles only. For a complete listing of all the titles in our Online Catalog with statistical methodsI as a subject heading, click here. (You will be asked for your APUS login information)
Statistical Methods for Comparative Studies Techniques for Bias Reduction by
Publication Date: 1980-08-08
Brings together techniques for the design and analysis of comparative studies. Methods include multivariate matching, standardization and stratification, analysis of covariance, logit analysis, and log linear analysis. Quantitatively assesses techniques' effectiveness in reducing bias. Discusses hypothesis testing, survival analysis, repeated measure design, and causal inference from comparative studies.
Wind Energy Explained by
Publication Date: 2002-06-21
This authoritative textbook is intended to provide both a thorough and highly accessible introduction to the cross-disciplinary field of wind engineering. The economic viability and political appeal of wind power is on the increase, making this text a timely addition to the literature.
* Developed to complement the increasing number of renewable/wind energy courses now available
* End-of-chapter tutorial sections (solutions manual available)
* Combines both academic and industrial experience giving the text a dual market appeal
* Comprehensive coverage spans every aspect of wind energy engineering
A Textbook of Computer Based Numerical and Statistical Techniques by
Publication Date: 1984-11-01
The present book ‘Computer Based Numerical and Statistical Techniques’ is primarily written according to the unified syllabus of Mathematics for B. Tech. II year and M.C.A. I year students of all Engineering colleges affiliated to U.P. Technical University, Lucknow. The subject matter is presented in a very systematic and logical manner. In each chapter, all concepts, definitions and large number of examples in the best possible way have been discussed in detail and lucid manner so that the students should feel no difficulty to understand the subject. A unique feature of this book is to provide with an algorithm and computer program in Clanguage to understand the steps and methodology used in writing the program. Thorough care has been taken to eradicate errors but perfection cannot be claimed. The reader are requested for constructive suggestions to improve the book and it will be gratefully accepted. The authors wish to express their thanks to New Age International (P) Limited, Publishers and the editorial department for the inspiration given by them to undertake and complete this project.
Statistical and Mathematical Techniques In Nuclear Medicine by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The design of study is a complex topic that involves a number of decisions. The most fundamental is whether to stand apart from the events taking place in the study subjects (observational study) or to test the effects of an intervention on these events (experimental study).
Modern Multivariate Statistical Techniques by
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
Describes database management systems for maintaining and querying large databases
Provides detailed descriptions of linear and nonlinear data-mining and machine-learning techniques
Integrates theory, real-data examples from many scientific disciplines, exercises, and full-color graphics to explain the various classical and new multivariate statistical techniques
Remarkable advances in computation and data storage and the ready availability of huge data sets have been the keys to the growth of the new disciplines of data mining and machine learning, while the enormous success of the Human Genome Project has opened up the field of bioinformatics.
Statistical Techniques for Network Security by
Publication Date: 2008-10-31
ntrusion detection and protection is a key component in the framework of the computer and network security area. Although various classification algorithms and approaches have been developed and proposed over the last decade, the statistically-based method remains the most common approach to anomaly intrusion detection.
Visualizing Statistical Concepts
Glossaries/Dictionaries of Statistical Terms
Statistics Quick Reference Sheets
Statistics for Dummies | Cheat Sheets
Covered: Understanding Formulas for Common Statistics, Statistically Figuring Sample Size, Surveying Statistical Confidence Intervals, Checking Out Statistical Confidence Interval Critical Values, Handling Statistical Hypothesis Tests
Statistics Symbol Sheet
Created by the Tompkins Cortland Community College in Dryden, New York.
Selected Books on Data Display
How to Display Data by
Publication Date: 2009-04-08
The best method to convey a message from a piece of research in health is via a figure. The best advice that a statistician can give a researcher is to first plot the data. Despite this, conventional statistics textbooks give only brief details on how to draw figures and display data. The purpose of this book is to give advice on the best methods to display data which have arisen from a variety of different sources. We have tried to make the book concise and easy to read. By displaying data badly one can very easily give misleading messages (or hide inconvenient truths) and we try to highlight how consumers of data have to be aware of these problems. We have also included advice on displaying data for posters and talks.
Information Retrieval by
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
SciFinder® is rapidly becoming a preferred means to access scientific information in industry and universities worldwide. It accesses databases which span the chemical, engineering, life, medical, and physical sciences, including five Chemical Abstract Service databases and the National Library of Medicine bibliographic database Medline®. No other single information access tool has such breadth of coverage for scientific journal and patent documents.
Statistical Graphics for Univariate and Bivariate Data by
Publication Date: 1997-02-24
Focuses on graphical displays that researchers can mploy as an integral part of the data analysis process. Such visual depictions are frequently more revealing than traditional, numerical summary statistics. Accessibly written.
Graphics of Large Datasets by
Publication Date: 2006-07-17
Graphics are great for exploring data, but how can they be used for looking at the large datasets that are commonplace to-day? This book shows how to look at ways of visualizing large datasets, whether large in numbers of cases or large in numbers of variables or large in both. Data visualization is useful for data cleaning, exploring data, identifying trends and clusters, spotting local patterns, evaluating modeling output, and presenting results. It is essential for exploratory data analysis and data mining. Data analysts, statisticians, computer scientists-indeed anyone who has to explore a large dataset of their own-should benefit from reading this book.
BLOG (For Teachers and Students)
Learn and teach Statistics and Operations Research
This blog gives ideas to help teachers and learners of Statistics and Operations Research. As decision sciences with a mathematical foundation, both these disciplines can be difficult to teach and understand. The emergence of computer packages such as Excel have changed the way these subjects can be taught, potentially making them more accessible and hands-on.
There are many good blogs about the application of statistics and operations research, but few about teaching these inherently interesting subjects. This blog aims to fit in that gap, entertaining, inspiring and helping teachers and learners alike.
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:firstname.lastname@example.org