LibGuides: Research Methods Information : Mixed Methods Research

Browse by Subject

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar

For the most part, Google Scholar provides citation-only results. The items you retrieve may or may not be available in the APUS Online Library. To find out, search the Online Library directly.

Click below to search for mixed methods research and retrieve articles on the subject or plug in your own search terms!

Need help with Google then check out their cheatsheet!

Conferences

Advances in Qualitative Methods Conference
Hosted by the International Institute for Qualitative Methodology, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada.
MMIRA Annual Conference
Annual conference of the Mixed Methods International Research Association.

What is Mixed Methods Research?

"Mixed methods research is the type of research in which a researcher or team of researchers combines elements of qualitative and quantitative approaches (e.g., use of qualitative and quantitative viewpoints, data collection, analysis, inference techniques) for the purpose of breadth and depth of understanding and corroboration."

Definition from: Johnson, R. B., Onwuegbuzie, A. J., & Turner, L. A. (2007). Toward a definition of mixed methods research. Journal of Mixed Methods Research, 1(2), 112-133.

VIDEO: What is Mixed Methods Research

Professor John Cresswell, noted scholar in the area of research methods, speaks about Mixed Methods Research.

Published Feb 19, 2013 | Runtime: 15:05 min.

Selected Books on Mixed Methods Research

Mixed Methods Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences by Sharon Andrew; Elizabeth J. Halcomb
ISBN: 9781405167772
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
Mixed methods research combines quantitative and qualitative research methods in a single study. The use of mixed methods research is increasingly popular in nursing and health sciences research. This growth in popularity has been driven by the increasing complexity of research problems relating to human health and wellbeing.

Mixed Method Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences is an accessible, practical guide to the design, conduct and reporting of mixed method research in nursing or the health sciences. Each chapter stands alone, describing the various steps of the research process, but contains links to other chapters. Within the text, 'real-life' examples from the published literature, doctoral theses and the unpublished work of the authors, illustrate the concepts being discussed.
Questions of Method in Cultural Studies by James Schwoch (Editor); Mimi White (Editor)
ISBN: 9780631229773
Publication Date: 2006-01-24
Question of Method in Cultural Studies brings together a group of scholars from across the social sciences and humanities to consider one of the most vexing issues confronting the proverbial 'anti-discipline' of cultural studies.
Mixed Method Research Design by S. Sreejesh; Sanjay Mohapatra
ISBN: 9783319026862
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
This book is a comprehensive guide to design and conduct the research in management-related field, such as marketing management and human resources management. It provides an overview of the real research conducted by authors throughout their careers and explains the important and growing research design used in management research-mixed method research design. Video tutorials are also included for complete qualitative data collection and data analysis. These videos are included to help readers understand the research and apply the techniques using the recommended software programs.

Open Access Resources on Mixed Methods Research

Best Practices for Mixed Methods Research in the Health Sciences
Commissioned by the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research. A text book authored by

John W. Creswell, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ann Carroll Klassen, Ph.D., Drexel University
Vicki L. Plano Clark, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Katherine Clegg Smith, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
With the Assistance of a Specially Appointed Working Group

Web | ePub | Kindle | PDF
International Journal of Qualitative Methods
Peer reviewed journal published as an open annual volume (formerly quarterly), web-based journal by the International Institute for Qualitative Methodology at the University of Alberta, Canada, and its international affiliates.
Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis in Social Sciences
The mission of the open access journal Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis in Social Sciences (QASS) is to promote free and effective scientific communication across a broad spectrum of researchers. Primary disciplines: economics, finance and econometrics (journal includes contributions from mathematics and statistics).
Research Methods Knowledge Base | The Qualitative Debate
Chapter on the mixed methods discussion from the Research Methods Knowledge Base web-based textbook.

Selected Journals on Mixed Methods Research

Journal of Mixed Methods
(Sage Publications)

We do not carry the journal's full run but individual articles are featured in Sage Research Methods.
Click Advanced Search option.
Enter the search phrase mixed methods
Delimit to only Articles in your search.
Your results will include articles from this journal in addition to others.
The description and table of contents for the journal can be found here at the Sage site.

Web Resources (Mixed Methods Research)

ERIC Database | Mixed Methods Research
Index to articles and grey literature in education, from the US Department of Education. Some full-text. This link connects you to full-text items retrieved using the search phrase "mixed methods research."
Mixed Methods International Research Association
The Mixed Methods International Research Association (MMIRA) aims to create an international community to promote interdisciplinary mixed methods research. The mission of the Association is to engage with the international community to support mixed methods research, which broadly includes the following: mixing/combining/integrating quantitative and/or qualitative methods, epistemologies, axiologies, and stakeholder perspectives and standpoints.
Mixed Methods Network for Behavioral, Social, and Health Sciences
Mixed Methods Research Lab Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
The goal of the Mixed Methods Research Lab (MMRL) in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health is to foster the use of qualitative and mixed methods research methodologies with a focus on integrating key stakeholder perspectives and goals into research designs.
Mixed Methods Research SIG 158
Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association. Purpose: To support, encourage, and increase dialogue and idea exchange among educational researchers utilizing mixed methods and those interested in integrating qualitative and quantitative research approaches.
Qualitative and Mixed Methods Research Self-study Course
Provided by the University of Wisconsin Institute for Clinical and Translational Research. This Learn@UW course is geared to the novice qualitative researcher. It includes modules devoted to topics like data collection, data analysis, and critical appraisal and is designed to be cumulative from module to module. Video and MP3.

Research Methods Information : Mixed Methods Research