Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Methods Discussion Groups/Forums
Research Methods Discussion Group
The department of Media and Communication and the University of Leicester (UK), Department of Sociology collaborated on an idea to launch a research methods forum, which aims to provide an opportunity for PhD students to share ideas and experience in the field regarding their methodology in a friendly, informal environment.
Methodspace gives you a chance to connect with other researchers, ask questions and start discussions. Please remember that when making decisions about your research, your first port of call should be your academic supervisor or advisor
Qualitative Research Listservs
Description and contact information.
SRMSNET: An Electronic Mailing List for Survey Researchers
A mailing list (listserv) which was created to allow members of ASA's Survey Research Methods Section to stay in closer touch with what is happening in the field. This listserv enables survey research methodologists and practitioners to share information of mutual interest.
Tests and Measures
For books on Test and Measures from the Alfaisal Online Library, see the Books page on this tab.
Published Instruments and Measurements
Below are searchable collections of published instruments and measures, meaning made available for use through a commercial test publisher. Descriptive information about the tests can be found in the databases below, but you will need to purchase it from the publisher to view it.
Instrument Collection Links | American Evaluation Association
"The sites and resources listed below were recommended by members as compilations (broadly defined) of information about tools and instruments of use to evaluators."
Test Link | ETS
An extensive database collection of commercially published and unpublished tests. Many of the commercially published tests are availale for purchase through the web site. Source information is provided for unpublished tests.
Test Reviews Online | Buros Institute of Mental Measures
Search the contents of the Mental Measurements Yearbook series from Burros Institute of Mental Measurements to locate reviews of commercially published. Purchase information is available for each entry at no charge.
Unpublished Instruments and Measurements
Below are databases and collections of unpublished instruments and measures, typically available through journal articles books or web sites, rather than a commercial test publisher. Descriptive information and the complete test will be found in the sources below. (Although you will not need to purchase unpublished tests from a publisher, you may need to locate the article or book that the original unpublished where the test is found.)
Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Beliefs, and Behaviors Among Youths | Center for Disease Control (CDC)
This compendium provides researchers and prevention specialists with a set of tools to assess violence-related beliefs, behaviors, and influences, as well as to evaluate programs to prevent youth violence.
Online Evaluation Resource Library: Instruments
A collection of instruments selected from data collection forms and protocols developed especially for evaluations of actual NSF-funded projects. There are also some instruments from technology projects funded by the U.S. Department of Education.
Selected Open Access Resources
Research Methods Blogs
Everyday Research Methods Blog
Addresses the field of Psychology. By Beth Morling.
Paul Vogt's Research Methods Blog
W. Paul Vogt is Emeritus Professor of Research Methods and Evaluation at Illinois State University.
Provided by 20/20 Research, Inc. and written by Jim Bryson. The blog has stories on qualitative techniques, the qualitative research industry, and other items of interest to qualitative researchers. The site aims to keep one "up to speed" on qualitative happenings and techniques
Research Methods | Social Sciences Blog
Sponsored by the The Higher Education Academy (UK).
Copyright © 2016 Alfaisal University Library. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +966 1 2158948 Fax: +966 1 2157845 Email:email@example.com