LibGuides: Research Methods Information : Qualitative Research

Browse by Subject

Selected Books on Visual Research

This is not an exhaustive list. Search the Online Catalog using the term phrase visual research for more titles.

Handbook of Media Audiences by Virginia Nightingale (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405184182
Publication Date: 2011-05-06
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the complexity and diversity of audience studies in the advent of digital media.

Details the study of audiences and how it is changing in relation to digital media
Recognizes and appreciates valuable traditional approaches and identifies how they can be applied to, and evolve with, the changing media world
Offers diverse perspectives from which being an audience, theorizing audiences, researching audiences, and doing audience research are approached today
Argues that the field works best by identifying particular 'audience problems' and applying the best theories and research methods available to solving them
Includes contributions from some of the most outstanding international scholars in the field
Visual Methods in Social Research by Marcus Banks
ISBN: 9781412931373
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This book aims to provide a brief account of some of the ways in which social scientists can incorporate visual images (of various kinds) into their research, together with a discussion of why they might wish to. The emphasis is very much on the use of visual materials as one among several research methods that may be employed by a social researcher during the course of an investigation, rather than a focus on the visual for its own sake. I assume that readers already have or are acquiring the skills to devise a research project that is valid within the context of their discipline, but may not have thought of adding a visual dimension. Those who are already experienced visual researchers and are seeking to add a sociological dimension to their work should probably look elsewhere, as they will probably find what I have to say basic or naive with regard to the visual and opaque or elliptical with regard to the
Making Sense of Data II by Glenn J. Myatt; Wayne P. Johnson; Myatt
ISBN: 9780470222805
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
A hands-on guide to making valuable decisions from data using advanced data mining methods and techniques

This second installment in the Making Sense of Data series continues to explore a diverse range of commonly used approaches to making and communicating decisions from data. Delving into more technical topics, this book equips readers with advanced data mining methods that are needed to successfully translate raw data into smart decisions across various fields of research including business, engineering, finance, and the social sciences.

Following a comprehensive introduction that details how to define a problem, perform an analysis, and deploy the results, Making Sense of Data II addresses the following key techniques for advanced data analysis:

Selected Books on Grounded Theory

This is not an exhaustive list. Search the Online Catalog using the term phrase grounded theory for more titles.

Grounded Theory by Christina Goulding
ISBN: 9781412932226
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The primary audience that this book is aimed at is the increasing number of students pursuing taught Master’s degrees, higher degrees by research, namely MPhils and PhDs, academics interested in qualitative methodologies, and practitioners who hold an open mind with regard to methodological theory meeting practice. This book will be of value to students on most MA, MBA and MSc programmes which have both a methodology component and the requirement that the student completes a dissertation. From personal experience of teaching Master’s-level research courses, PhD methodology programmes, and involvement in supervising MPhil and PhD students, there is a certain amount of naïveté, followed by shock, when students, particularly in the management sciences, realise that research involves analysis of philosophy, epistemologies, particular principles and an evaluation of self in the role of researcher. However, given that many Master’s programmes are now operated on a semester basis, there is little time for the depth of reading required to assimilate the full range of methodologies, let alone reflect meaningfully on their critics and counter critics.
Knowledge Sharing In Cross-Cultural Virtual Teams by Anna F. Breitenöder
ISBN: 9783836625234
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This study, knowledge based in on order the to Grounded collaborate Theory Methodology, effectively and provides achieve a tentative theoretical model about how people in cross-cultural virtual teams (CCVTs) share successful project outcomes. The study thereby is based on the analysis of interviews about situations and processes that have been experienced by people working in CCVTs. The results of this study indicate that in order to be able to communicate efficiently, CCVTs have to overcome a cross-cultural virtual barrier, which restricts knowledge sharing (KS) in the virtual environment. Thereby, five factors were identified that counteract the breakthrough of the cross-cultural virtual barrier. If not managed correctly, the consequences of these five factors could result in a negative spiral and lead towards the failure of CCVT projects. However, if managed in the right way by using the strategies, proposed in this book, the findings suggest that then CCVTs could end in a positive spiral towards effective KS and consequently successful project outcomes. A major contribution of the paper is its provision of guidance for good practice for people working in CCVTs.

Selected Books on Phenomenology

Interpretive Phenomenology for Health Care Researchers by Garrett Chan
ISBN: 9781441641090
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Interpretative phenomenological analysis aims to offer insights into how a person within a given context makes sense of a phenomenon usually these phenomena relate to experiences of some personal significance such as a major life event (acute or chronic illness, death of a loved one, change in economic status, etc.) or the development of an important relationship. The book will help readers better understand the philosophy and methodology used to study the lived experiences of persons receiving health care.

This is not an exhaustive list. Search the Online Catalog using the term phrase phenomenology for more titles.

Phenomenological Epistemology by Henry Pietersma
ISBN: 9780195351149
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
T his study is both historical and systematic in nature. Its historical character may be seen from the fact that the three central chapters of the book are an attempt to come to grips with the views of Husserl, Heidegger, and MerleauPonty, three towering figures from the recent history of philosophy. In these parts of the book, I offer an historical interpretation of each of their epistemological doctrines. Each doctrine has its own power, excitement, and charm, which I have tried to capture in my exposition. Each chapter, I think, has enough integrity to be studied with profit without reading the others, if the pressure of time and circumstance should require it. I compare these doctrines with one another only to the extent necessary in light of the fact that both Heidegger and MerleauPonty developed their views in criticism of Husserl. But I have tried not to let comparisons of this kind come in the way of exposition of each philosopher's doctrine for its own sake. These chapters, as one would expect, are concerned to do justice to the relevant texts and are therefore essentially expository and historical in nature. When it comes to making comparisons, I give more attention to the affinity between the three philosophers than to their differences from one another. It seems to me that it is particularly interesting to see them together and to relate them as a group to the general history of epistemology. Seeing them against this background, it became clear to me how deeply all three are indebted to the transcendental epistemology of Kant. Each of the three philosophers criticizes

What is Qualitative Research?

"Qualitative research is a generic term for investigative methodologies described as ethnographic, naturalistic, anthropological, field or participant observer. It emphasizes the importance of looking at variables in the natural setting in which they are found.

Interaction between variables is important. Detailed data is gathered through open ended questions that provide direct quotations. The interviewer is an integral part of the investigation. . . . This differes from quantitative research which attempts to gather dfata by objective methods to provide information about relations, comparisons, and predictions and attempts to remove the investigator from the investigation. . . ."

Definition from Key, James P. (1997). Research Design in Occupational Education. Stillwater, OK: Oklahoma State University.

VIDEO: Quantitative vs Qualitative Research

A humorous presentation of qualitative vs quantitative research. The production was created as a midterm submission by students of East Tennessee State University's EDFN 5950 - Methods of Research course.

Published on Mar 6, 2012 | Runtime 4:36 min.

♦♦♦♦♦♦

The Xavier University Library (Cincinnati, OH) provides this excellent table that compares the characteristics of Qualitative vs. Quantitative research.

VIDEO: Introduction to Qualitative Research

Dr. Anthony Picciano is a professor in the graduate program in Education Administration and Supervision in the School of Education at Hunter College. He is also on the faculty of the CUNY Graduate Center in the PhD Program in Urban Education and the Program in Integrated Technology and Pedagogy.

This video is one from his introductory lectures. See a list of all his videos here.

Runtime: 2:11 min.

General Reference: Qualitative Research Basics

This list is not exhaustive.

For a complete list of books about qualitative research, search the Online Library with the term phrase qualitative research. NOTE: If searched in "All Headings" you will retrieve items that include qualitative research. If searched as a "Subject Heading" you will retrieve items specifically cataloged with this tag.

Qualitative Research Methods in Mental Health and Psychotherapy by David Harper (Editor); Andrew R. Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470663738
Publication Date: 2011-07-25
This book provides a user-friendly introduction to the qualitative methods most commonly used in the mental health and psychotherapy arena.

Chapters are written by leading researchers and the editors are experienced qualitative researchers, clinical trainers, and mental health practitioners
Provides chapter-by-chapter guidance on conducting a qualitative study from across a range of approaches
Offers guidance on how to review and appraise existing qualitative literature, how to choose the most appropriate method, and how to consider ethical issues
Demonstrates how specific methods have been applied to questions in mental health research
Uses examples drawn from recent research, including research with service users, in mental health practice and in psychotherapy
Qualitative Research in Social Work by Nick Gould (Editor); Ian F. Shaw (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412933452
Publication Date: 2010-09-17
Qualitative Social Work provides a forum for those interested in qualitative research and evaluation and in qualitative approaches to practice. The journal promotes exchange and conversation on the nature of reflective inquiry and practice, emerging applications of critical realism in social work, the potential of social constructionist and narrative approaches to research and practice.
Criminological Research by Lesley Noaks; Emma Wincup
ISBN: 9781412933063
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Noaks and Wincup's book is useful primarily to criminology students for its clarity, use of illustrative case studies, exercises and end-of-chapter suggested further reading'
- The Howard Journal of Criminal Justice

Criminological Research offers a comprehensive guide to both the theory and practice of qualitative criminological research.

Through a detailed yet concise explanation, the reader is shown how a variety of methods and approaches work and how their outcomes may be interpreted. Practically focused throughout, the book also offers constructive advice for students analysing and writing their research projects.
Qualitative Research in Social Work by Nick Gould (Editor); Ian F. Shaw (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412933452
Publication Date: 2010-09-17
Since the mid1980s there has been increasing interest in qualitative research within the information systems research community. Today qualitative research is accepted as being able to provide important insights into information systems phenomena. Qualitative research involves the use of qualitative data, such as interviews, documents and participant observation, to understand and explain social phenomena. Qualitative researchers can be found in many disciplines and fields, using a variety of approaches, methods and techniques. In information systems research, there has been a general shift away from issues that are purely technological to issues that additionally include the managerial and organizational, hence an increasing interest in the application of qualitative research methods.
Qualitative Research Through Case Studies by Max Travers
ISBN: 9780761968061
Publication Date: 2001-07-23
Qualitative research has been one of the big growth areas in social science in the postwar period. There are now a vast number of books covering all aspects of qualitative research. These range from general introductions, to practical guides on how to use different methods, to texts which advocate a particular vision of the history and practice of qualitative research through critical discussion of underlying issues. Despite this large literature, there are many undergraduates who still feel far more comfortable conducting a survey, or analysing a quantitative data set, than doing qualitative research. Most find no difficulty in collecting qualitative data: after all, anyone can carry out a few interviews, describe some events in a particular social setting, or tape-record and transcribe a conversation, without specialist training. The difficulty lies in turning this into a rigorous, theoretically informed analysis of some well-defined question or problem. Here students often do very badly, and are unable to relate the approaches and traditions they cover in theory courses to their own experience of doing research. Another way of expressing this problem is that few methods texts explain the distinction between method and methodology. Methods are the techniques used in collecting data. Methodology, on the other hand, refers to the assumptions you have as a researcher, which can be epistemological or political in character, or mean that you support the view of the world promoted by a particular theoretical tradition. Whether they are acknowledged or not, or even whether you are fully aware of them, these assumptions will influence how you research any topic. You will be challenged to defend and explain them in your viva interview to obtain a PhD, if you get that far in your studies, and by academics reviewing your work who may be highly critical towards your theoretical perspective. However, even at undergraduate level, you can achieve a higher standard in research projects or dissertations by thinking and writing about methodological issues.

Glossaries | Qualitative Research

Qualitative Research Glossary
From The Association for Qualitative Research (UK)
Qualitative Research Methods: Glossary
Created by the University of Plymouth Learning from WOeRK project and released as an open educational resource.

Selected Books on Qualitative Research Data Analysis

This list is not exhaustive.

Designing and Conducting Health System Research Projects by Corlien M. Varkevisser; Indra Pathmanathan; Ann Templeton Brownlee
ISBN: 9781552500705
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Behavioral Research Data Analysis with R by Yuelin Li; Jonathan Baron
ISBN: 9781461412373
Publication Date: 2011-11-04
This book is written for behavioral scientists who want to consider adding R to their existing set of statistical tools, or want to switch to R as their main computation tool. The authors aim primarily to help practitioners of behavioral research make the transition to R. The focus is to provide practical advice on some of the widely-used statistical methods in behavioral research, using a set of notes and annotated examples. The book will also help beginners learn more about statistics and behavioral research. These are statistical techniques used by psychologists who do research on human subjects, but of course they are also relevant to researchers in others fields that do similar kinds of research.
Qualitative Data by Carl Auerbach; Louise B. Silverstein
ISBN: 9780814707807
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Qualitative Data is meant for the novice researcher. It reviews the qualitative research process, beginning with an examination of the basic philosophy of qualitative research, and ending with planning and carrying out a qualitative research study. It provides an explicit, step-by-step procedure that takes the researcher from the raw text of interview data through data analysis and theory construction to the creation of a publishable work.

Video Resources on Qualitative Research

Market Research Videos
A collection of short videos on research which includes 7 on various aspects of qualitative research.
Qualitative and Mixed Methods Research Self-Study Course
Provided by the University of Wisconsin Institute for Clinical and Translational Research. This Learn@UW course is geared to the novice qualitative researcher. It includes modules devoted to topics like data collection, data analysis, and critical appraisal and is designed to be cumulative from module to module. Video and MP3.
Qualitative Research in Information Systems
Presented by Bob Galliers, distinguished Professor in Information Systems at Bentley University (Waltham, MA)
Research Methods in the Social Sciences
A collection of video presentations with a particular focus on qualitative research. Presented by Dr. Graham R. Gibbs of the University of Huddersfield (UK)

Selected Journals on Qualitative Research

This list is not exhaustive.

For a complete list of journals addressing qualitative research, click here. (You must be logged into the Online Library for this link to work.)

International Journal of Qualitative Methods
A peer reviewed journal published as an open annual volume (formerly quarterly), web-based journal by the International Institute for Qualitative Methodology at the University of Alberta, Canada, and its international affiliates.
Journal of Ethnographic and Qualitative Research
A quarterly, peer-reviewed periodical, publishing scholarly articles that address topics relating directly to empirical qualitative research and conceptual articles addressing topics related to qualitative.
Qualitative Report
A peer-reviewed, on-line bi-monthly journal devoted to writing and discussion of and about qualitative, critical, action, and collaborative inquiry and research.
Qualitative Sociology
Offers both theoretical and analytical research, and publishes manuscripts based on research methods such as interviewing, participant observation, ethnography, historical analysis, content analysis and others which do not rely primarily on numerical data. Peer reviewed.

Selected Books on Historical Research

This is not an exhaustive list. Search the Online Catalog using the term phrases historiography, history research, and historical research for more titles.

Capturing Nursing History by Sandra Lewenson; Eleanor Krohn Herrmann
ISBN: 9780826115652
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Provides the necessary direction, guidance, and examples needed to conduct historical research. Covers such topics as historiography, biographical research, using artifacts in historical research, doing archival and other data searches, doing international historical research, and locating funding sources for historical research.
Measuring Colour by R. W. G. Hunt; M. R. Pointer
ISBN: 9781119975373
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
The classic authority on colour measurement now fully revised and updated with the latest CIE recommendations

The measurement of colour is of major importance in many commercial applications, such as the textile, paint, and foodstuff industries; as well as having a significant role in the lighting, paper, printing, cosmetic, plastics, glass, chemical, photographic, television, transport, and communication industries.

Building upon the success of earlier editions, the 4th edition of Measuring Colour has been updated throughout with new chapters on colour rendering by light sources; colorimetry with digital cameras; factors affecting the appearance of coloured objects, and details of new CIE colour appearance models.
Modern Historiography by Michael Bentley
ISBN: 9780203981733
Publication Date: 1999-01-29
Most of this brief account first appeared in 1997 as part of a large-scale study of historiography, edited by the present writer and published by Routledge under the title Companion to Historiography. There were and are strong arguments for leaving it there. The piece had taken shape in an attempt to provide some context for a number of essays aimed at analysing recent currents in historical thinking; and to that extent the self-conscious positioning of trends and schools and moods that the reader will find in this essay defies easy translation into a free-standing survey. It too readily acquires an authorial voice that descants without ground bass or counterpoint such as the sister studies offered in the Companion. Not only that, but the accompaniment of many pieces that had explored the nature of historiography before the onset of the modern era (or had done so in an Asian or Middle-Eastern setting) made it possible to throw those using the Companion into the Enlightenment or romantic period with only a cursory allusion to what had gone before and without any serious comparative ambition. The text assumes, in other words, that the reader is already well down the runway with engines roaring: those still taxi-ing may feel with some justification that they deserve a smoother departure and wish to return to the gentler pace of the larger study.

Selected Books on Ethnography

This is not an exhaustive list. Search the Online Catalog using the term phrases ethnography or ethnology -- methodology for more titles.

Doing Design Ethnography by Andrew Crabtree; Mark Rouncefield; Peter Tolmie
ISBN: 9781447127253
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
Ethnographic approaches associated with social and cultural anthropology are common currency in systems design. They are employed in academic and industrial research labs, consultancy firms, IT companies and design houses to understand user requirements, to develop design ideas, and to evaluate computing systems. Doing Design Ethnography is about one particularly influential approach: ethnomethodologically informed or inspired ethnography. This approach focuses distinctively on the embodied work practices that people use to conduct their everyday activities and to concert them with others. It enables system developers to factor the social organisation of human activities into IT research and systems design, and to do so with respect to its real world, real time character. Doing Design Ethnography is the first dedicated practical text explaining how to do ethnography in a design context. Particular emphasis is placed on doing to convey and elaborate the approach as a concrete job of work consisting of particular skills and competences that are responsive to the practical demands of systems development. The authors work through a range of examples to elaborate key aspects of the job, and offer practical guidelines for researchers and design practitioners who seek to do ethnography for systems design.
Expressions of Ethnography by Robin Patric Clair (Editor)
ISBN: 9780791458235
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Using examples of a wide variety of cultural phenomena, contemporary ways to practice ethnography, and novel forms of expressing the cultural experience, the book offers an eclectic mix of short stories, novels, and poetry, as well as traditional scholarly reports of poignant, provocative, and powerful cultural phenomena.
The Ethnography of Communication by Muriel Saville-Troike
ISBN: 9780631228417
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
The Ethnography of Communication presents the terms and concepts which are essential for discussing how and why language is used and how its use varies in different cultures.

Presents the essential terms and concepts introduced and developed by Dell Hymes and others and surveys the most important findings and applications of their work.
Draws on insights from social anthropology and psycholinguistics in investigating the patterning of communicative behavior in specific cultural settings.
Includes two completely new chapters on contrasts in patterns of communication and on politeness, power, and politics.
Incorporates a broad range of examples and illustrations from many languages and cultures for analyzing patterns of communicative phenomena.

Research Methods Information : Qualitative Research