LibGuides: Research Methods Information : Help With Writing

Browse by Subject

Writing an Abstract

Theses, dissertations, and journal articles typically require an abstract.

Writing Report Abstracts | Purdue Online Writing lab (OWL)
This handout discusses how to write good abstracts for reports. It covers informational and descriptive abstracts and gives pointers for success.

Thesis Statement vs. Hypothesis Statement: How are They Different?

VS.

Both the hypothesis statement and the thesis statement answer the research question of the study. When the statement is one that can be proved or disproved, it is an hypothesis statement. If, instead, the statement specifically shows the intentions/objectives/position of the researcher, it is a thesis statement.

A hypothesis is a statement that can be proved or disproved. It is typically used in quantitative research and predicts the relationship between variables.

A thesis statement is a short, direct sentence that summarizes the main point or claim of an essay or research paper. It is seen in quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research. A thesis statement is developed, supported, and explained in the body of the essay or research report by means of examples and evidence.

Every research study should contain a concise and well-written thesis statement. If the intent of the study is to prove/disprove something, that research report will also contain an hypothesis statement.

NOTE: In some disciplines, the hypothesis is referred to as a thesis statement! This is not accurate but within those disciplines it is understood that "a short, direct sentence that summarizes the main point" will be included.

These links will provide you with more information.

The Research Question and Hypothesis | DOC file.
[from the English Language Support, Dept of Student Services, Ryerson University]
Research Questions and Hypotheses | RTF file
[from the University of West Florida]
Forming a Paper Thesis and Hypothesis | Website with DOC links
[from the University of Oregon's Teaching and Learning Center]

Discussion/Support Groups

PhinisheD
A discussion and support group for people trying to finish their dissertations or theses, and those who have been there.

Selected Journals on Writing

Journal of Basic Writing
Publishes articles on theory, research, and teaching practices related to basic writing.

Journal of Writing Research
Publishes excellent and innovative writing research drawn from a range of academic disciplines (e.g. psychology, linguistics, pedagogy, design studies, communication studies, information and communication technology, learning and teaching)
Writing Center Journal
Original empirical research and theoretical scholarship on topics of interest to the writing center community.

VIDEOS: Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has its own YouTube channel.

The OWL resourse is used all over the world and includes videos for second language students. American students new to academic writing, or whose skills need some improvement, may find these videos useful because of their clear, basic approach.

Also presented, videos on MLA and APA style.

SAMPLE VIDEO: Audience: Introduction & Overview | Runtime: 2:47 min.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)

APA Formatting - The Basics (Purdue - OWL)
Discusses how to format a paper using Microsoft Word according to APA style.

Online Writing Lab logo

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) maintains its own YouTube channel with vidcasts on a range of writing issues and the use of the APA Style Guide.

APA Formatting: Reference List Basics (Purdue - OWL)
This vidcast introduces the viewers to the basics of APA style documentation, focusing on the reference list.
OWL Purdue: Writing the Experimental Report
OWL Purdue:Writing in Psychology Overview
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue OWL site provides free resources including information on

Writing and Teaching Writing
Research
Grammar and Mechanics
Style Guides
ESL (English as a Second Language)
Job Search and Professional Writing

Thesis Structure vs Thesis Format

How a thesis is structured is not the same thing as how it is formatted.

STRUCTURE refers to the intellectual arrangement of the thesis. A useful analogy is a cookbook cake recipe. Typically, a cake recipe is structured in the same way.

Cake Recipe Model

Oven Temperature
List of Ingredients
Assembly/Cooking Instructions
[Chef's Notes - Optional]

A thesis follows a standardized academic structure.

Thesis Model

Abstract
Introduction
Literature Review
Methods
Findings/Results
Discussion
Conclusion
References

FORMAT refers to the visual presentation/layout of the thesis, such as margins, line spacing, etc.

Using the cake analogy again. You can use a single recipe to make the same cake, but you can decorate it differently. That is, you can use different styles of decoration.

birthday cake

Academic papers have a required format, or editorial style. The "decoration" or format instructions are found in style guides.

The purpose of a style guide is to provide uniformity in writing and documentation/ citation styles and in formatting a document. Following a standard guide ensures that your paper is professional-looking and readable. Journal publishers typically require authors to follow a specific style guide, so it is a useful skill to know how to use one!

Writing a Qualitative Research Report

How to Write Publishable Qualitative Researc h
Chapter 6 of Publishing Addiction Science: A Guide for the Perplexed. Edited by Thomas F. Babor, Kerstin Stenius, Susan Savva, and Jean O'Reilly. The entire book, which is highly recommended, is located at http://www.parint.org/isajewebsite/isajebook2.htm

Reading and Writing the Qualitative Research Report | By Joann Keyton
A PowerPoint presentation of Chapter 17 From Communication Research (McGraw-Hill Education: 2006). Provides a useful checklist for the reader and writer. Links to a chapter checklist and quiz for the chapter is located in the left column of this page.
Writing Qualitiative Research Proposals | By Joan L. Bottorrf
A PDF-formatted PowerPoint slide show from University of British Columbia Professor of Nursing and Investigator at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

Writing a Quantitative Research Report

How to Write a Scientific Paper for a Peer-reviewed Journal
Chapter 5 of Publishing Addiction Science: A Guide for the Perplexed. Edited by Thomas F. Babor, Kerstin Stenius, Susan Savva, and Jean O'Reilly. The entire book, which is highly recommended, is located at http://www.parint.org/isajewebsite/isajebook2.htm

Reading and Writing the Quantitative Research Report | Joann Keyton
A PowerPoint presentation of Chapter 17 From Communication Research, 2nd edition (McGraw-Hill Education: 2006). Provides a useful checklist for the reader and writer. Links to a multiple choice quiz, chapter summary, chapter checklists, chapter outline, and flashcards located in the left column on this page.

General Reference: Professional and Academic Writing

Professional Academic Writing in the Humanities and Social Sciences by Susan MacDonald
ISBN: 9780809385997
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
I Increased ncreased attention to the social contexts of writing provides the intellectual framework that will be obvious in what follows. But long before scholarship in rhetoric turned its attention to contextual variation, my experiences as writer, teacher, and administrator were leading me toward a growing sense of the strangeness writers feel as they move from one discourse community to another.
Europäische Hochschulschriften by Haiying Feng
ISBN: 9783035101997
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
I would like to express my gratitude to all those who gave me the possibility to publish this monograph. My deepest gratitude goes first and foremost to Professor Vijay Bhatia, my supervisor and mentor, for his illuminating guidance and constant encouragement from my days as a doctoral student to the present. Actually long before I became a student of his, it was his 1993 book Analyzing Genre that initiated me into the field of genre analysis. His openness to different views has led me to embrace thinkings from various research traditions and experiment with different research methods, which has clearly been reflected in the present work.
Teaching Academic Writing in European Higher Education by Lennart A. Björk (Editor); Gerd Bräuer (Editor); Lotte Rienecker (Editor); Peter Stray Jørgensen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402012082
Publication Date: 2003-03-31
I was fortunate to attend, as a visitor from the U.S., the first European Association for the Teaching of Academic Writing (EATAW) conference in 2001 at Groningen. I was struck by the similarities in the challenges higher education faces on both sides of the Atlantic in terms of developing students’ academic writing, and students’ learning through writing. It is indeed an international ‘problem.’ But I was equally struck by the profound differences in responding to these challenges – among nations, institutions, disciplines, and even within disciplines. The essays in this extraordinary volume address a growing demand for help with academic writing, on the part of students and academic staff alike. And they do so in ways that bring fresh approaches, not only to Europeans, who have only recently begun to study academic writing, but also to researchers and academic staff in the U.S., where we have a century-old tradition of attention to the problem – but are much in need of these fresh approaches.
The Handbook of Academic Writing by Rowena Murray
ISBN: 9780335230075
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
We warmly thank all of the following colleagues and friends: Maura Murphy, Sarah MacCurtain, Angelica Risquez, Nyiel Kuol, Helena Lenihan, Margery Stapleton, Eoin Reeves, Eoin Devereux, Liz Devereux, Jill Pearson, Mike Morley, Noreen Heraty, Gary Walsh, Harriet Cotter, Karen Young, Terry Barrett, Gearldine O’Neill and Alison Farrell.

Selected Books on Research Writing

Science Research Writing by Hilary Glasman-Deal
ISBN: 9781848163096
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
From Research to Manuscript by Michael Jay Katz
ISBN: 9781402040450
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Research Design and Proposal Writing in Spatial Science by Jay D. Gatrell; Gregory D. Bierly; Ryan R. Jensen
ISBN: 9783540279525
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
English for Writing Research Papers by Adrian Wallwork
ISBN: 9781441979216
Publication Date: 2011-04-03
Publishing your research in an international journal is key to your success in academia. This guide is based on a study of referees' reports and letters from journal editors on reasons why papers written by non-native researchers are rejected due to problems with English usage. It draws on English-related errors from around 5000 papers written by non-native authors, 500 abstracts by PhD students, and over 1000 hours of teaching researchers how to write and present research papers.
Medical Writing by Robert B. Taylor
ISBN: 9781441982339
Publication Date: 2011-08-18
Medical writing skills are crucial for clinicians, educators and researchers alike. Whether you work in a busy practice or in an academic setting, Medical Writing will give you the know-how to translate observations and ideas into an article, report or book chapter that is ready for publication. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the personal enrichment that writing can bring. Dr. Taylor draws from personal lessons learned while publishing two dozen medical books and several hundred papers to give valuable advice on writing:
Research Design and Proposal Writing in Spatial Science by Jay D. Gatrell; Gregory D. Bierly; Ryan R. Jensen
ISBN: 9789400722804
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
The complex interactions between human and physical systems confronting social scientists and policymakers pose unique conceptual, methodological, and practical complications when ‘doing research’. Graduate students in a broad range of related fields need to learn how to tackle the discipline-specific issues of space, place, and scale as they propose and perform research in the spatial sciences. This practical textbook and overview blends plenty of concrete examples of spatial research and case studies to familiarize readers with the research process as it demystifies and exemplifies how to really do it. The appendix contains both completed and in-progress proposals for MA and PhD theses and dissertations. Emphasizing research as a learning and experiential process while providing students with the encouragement and skills needed for success in proposal writing, "Research Design and Proposal Writing in Spatial Science" can serve as a textbook for graduate-level research-design courses, as well as for undergraduate-level project-based spatial science courses.
Writing and Publishing Science Research Papers in English by Karen Englander
ISBN: 9789400777132
Publication Date: 2013-10-23
This book provides a comprehensive review of the current knowledge on writing and publishing scientific research papers and the social contexts. It deals with both English and non-Anglophone science writers, and presents a global perspective and an international focus. The book collects and synthesizes research from a range of disciplines, including applied linguistics, the sociology of science, sociolinguistics, bibliometrics, composition studies, and science education. This multidisciplinary approach helps the reader gain a solid understanding of the subject. Divided into three parts, the book considers the context of scientific papers, the text itself, and the people involved. It explains how the typical sections of scientific papers are structured. Standard English scientific writing style is also compared with science papers written in other languages. The book discusses the strengths and challenges faced by people with different degrees of science writing expertise and the role of journal editors and reviewers.
Writing the Research Paper by Anthony C. Winkler; Jo Ray McCuen-Metherell
ISBN: 9780495799641
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Writing; Reference and research services; Library and information science; Literature and writing
How to Write a Grant Application by Allan Hackshaw
ISBN: 9781405197557
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
This concise guide covers the important angles of your grant application, whether for a health research project or personal training programme, and will help you be among the successful applicants.

VIDEO: Plagiarism: How to Avoid It

Not sure what plagiarism is or how you can avoid it? Watch this brief, informative video from Bainbridge College (GA).

Published on January 10, 2010. | Runtime: 2:50 min. | Used by permission.

A transcription of the video is available at the right.

Here are the links referred to at the end of the video:

Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It
From Indiana University - Bloomington's School of Education
For a practice tutorial with feedback, click this link.
Is it P la g iarism Yet?
From Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
To see the OWL overview, click this link.

Online Tutorials | General Writing

Online Tutorial in Effective Writing Practices
The purpose of this tutorial is to help students quickly review common mistakes made in English grammar, punctuation, organization, and writing styles. From Northern Illinois University.

Pamphlets on Common Writing Situations
Each pamphlet deals with a specific writing situation. Most pamphlets are available in html and pdf versions. From the Indiana University - Blooming Writing Tutorial Services.
Symptoms and Cures for Writer's Block
From the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Video Tutorials | Writing
A series of instructional videos aimed at offering clear explanation of some key writing concepts and practical strategies for putting that advice to work. From the Portland State University Writing Center.
Writing a Scientific Research Paper
From the Yale University Writing Center.
Writing a Thesis or Dissertation
From the Yale University Writing Center
Writing the Thesis Introduction
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Page from the LibGuide on Organizing Your Social Sciences Research Paper by Dr. Robert Labaree of the University of Southern California Libraries.

Online Tutorials | Sentences & Paragraphs

Writing Clear, Concise Sentences
Follow the principles below to write sentences that are clear, to the point, and easier to read. Nine sections. From the University of Wisconsin - Madison's Writing Center.
Writing Skills: The Paragraph
The paragraph is the most important unit of a well-written essay. The paragraph has a specific structure and standards that make it effective and enjoyable to read. In this writing lesson we will look at how to construct good paragraphs and improve writing with better flow and clarity. Includes quiz and transcript.

Using Micrsoft Word

Adding Page Numbers | Microsoft 2010 and 2013
This page from provides info about how to work with page numbers. It includes (1) adding page numbers - general information, (2) using sections to control page numbering, (3) breaking the connection between sections, and (4) adding the page numbers. [From the University of Michigan Library]

APA Format Setup in Word 2003
This video shows how to create an APA formatted MS Word 2003 document. Presented by English teacher Tom Bailey. (A link to a GoogleDocs downloadable template is provided.)
APA Format Setup in Word 2007
How to format research, term papers and essays with APA Sixth Edition Publication Manual [2nd printing]. Presented by David Taylor of the University of Maryland University College Writing Center.
APA Format Setup in Word 2010
A short guide to setting up APA format in Microsoft Word 2010. Recorded and produced by Patrick S. Love for the Daytona State College Writing Center, 2011.
For a fully accessible version (including transcript) of this video, see: http://bit.ly/nkGyfk
Changes in Microsoft Office 2007 to 2010
The University of Michigan Library provides a list of critical differences. Located in the center column about mid way down the page.
Chicago Manual of Style: An Overview
A brief lecture on the citation style known as Chicago Manual of Style. Includes slide screenshots of Microsoft Word. Presented Dr. Michael Brooks of Bowling Green State University (OH).
Creating Landscape Pages | Microsoft 2010 and 2013
Information on creating a landscape section, disconnecting the landscape section, and adding Page Numbers to the Landscape Pages. [From the University of Michigan Library]
Inserting Images, Charts, Other Objects | Microsoft 2010 and 2013
Includes video and text instructions. [From the University of Michigan Library]
MLA Format Setup in Word 2003
This tutorial shows how to set up an MLA formatted paper in MS Word. Presented by English teacher Tom Bailey.
MLA Format Setup in Word 2007
This tutorial will show you how to set your paper up in proper MLA format using Microsoft Word 2007. It covers font, format, headers, etc., as well as some other useful tips. Presented by Brock Adams.
MLA Format Setup in Word 2010
This is a video guide to formatting the first page of a basic MLA-style document and is, to the best of our knowledge, up to date as of August 2011. Recorded and produced by Jason M. DiGioia for the Daytona State College Writing Center. For a fully accessible version of this video (including transcript) see: http://bit.ly/onry6Q

Transcription of "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It" Video

Video Transcription: Plagiarism: How to Avoid It
This a transcription of the YouTube video, "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It," by Bainbridge College, GA. The video is used by permission. This transcription was created by the APUS Online Library.

Research Methods Information : Help With Writing